mobo/cpu combo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2006, 09:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default mobo/cpu combo

My story is this, I have had tons of problems with my computer, and I have very little money. I replaced the PSU with a bigger unit, fairly new harddrive, refurbished 6800 vid card. The only thing left for me to do is the motherboard and cpu. This is going to be a heck of a downgrade for me, but I need a working PC.

I will not spend over 120 dollars. Here is the cheapest combo I found, it needs to have a AGP 8x slot and it needs to be reliable. I love this one because the CPU is a cool running mobile athlon and it's already installed on the board.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813185062

This will be my first motherboard intsall, and have only one fear, and that's hooking up the small wires for the case's power switch and usb ports to the motherboard, does anyone have a link to a how-to for that?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 09:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

What problems are you having thats making you downgrade?
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 09:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

Won't boot. Won't even power up. The fans won't turn on and the PSU's own fans won't turn on. I thought it was the PSU that died, but I've replaced it twice. The video card maybe, but I tried two cards that I know work and that didn't help. The harddrive is fairly new, but wouldn't cause this problem anyway. Watch after I replaced the motherboard and CPU, I'll find out the power button on the case doesn't work anymore, LOL.

By the time I'm done with this computer, it'll be nothing but new parts. I need a different brand mobo anyway, ASUS' tech support bites big time.

So, I haven't heard much of PC Chips, are they a good brand?
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 10:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Send me your old system
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 10:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

PM me and when I get settled into my new place, I'll get back to you. It may be a couple months. I'm in the middle of a break up and we have to sell the house and both find new places to live. All I ask is that you pay for shipping. I have the P4P 800 E deluxe mobo (no blown caps that I can tell), the Prescott core 3.2 P4, and a cheap Raidmax 420 watt PSU so far. I may replace the hybrid 6800 (it's a plain jane 6800 only it has DDR3) in the future too.

I need someone to chime in about the PC Chips board, is this quality stuff? I also hear that the AMD mobile 2800 that comes with this board only runs at 1.6ghz, is this bad?
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 10:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

PC-Chips is garbage IMO. I'm going to send you a PM now.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 10:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

Anyone have suggestions on motherboards and CPUs that add up to less than 120 bucks?
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 10:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

$120 is going to be tough. You could go with a Sempron 2800+ and a $50 gigabyte or biostar motherboard. You might end up closer to $140 with shipping etc...



Edit:

$57:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128259

$80:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819104220

Plus Shipping.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 11:16 AM   #9 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

I know I hate ASUS, but this is what I have come up with.

AMD Sempron 64 2600+
$71

ASUS K8U-X ULi M1689
$45

I can always upgrade later when i have more income. I am not even buying this myself, my fiancee is getting it for me as a sort of break-up/house warming present.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 11:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Asus is better than PC-Chips. Once you get that setup, overclock it as much as you can to get the max performance on it.

Edit:

Did you short the 2 pins on the motherboard to manually start it to rule out the power switch being the issue? I would.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.