Which Mobo+CPU is better? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2006, 12:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 15
Default Which Mobo+CPU is better?

http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...Tab=2&NoMapp=0
or
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...779&CatId=1632

How do you really decide what deal is better

**** CHECK MY NEXT POST FOR NEW INFORMATION. THANKYOU ****
__________________

Rinaldi363 is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 01:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

the 939 Is more powerful, but dated... at least the S775 will be upgradeable later... So I would have to go with the 775
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 02:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

The first one.

You can't upgrade the 775 motherboard to the new architecture. So how is it "upgradeable"?
turtile is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 08:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 15
Default

Ok how about this.
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...222539&CatId=0

or

http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...537738&CatId=0

both with

http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...184&CatId=2324

or this combo

http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...779&CatId=1632

The reason I ask is because apparently the first 2 can upgrade to better CPU's because they are AM2 sockets, unlike the last one which is cheaper, but only a 775 socket. The first one used DDR2 ram and the 2nd and 3rd use DDR ram.
Should I go for the first because of the RAM?
Is the DDR2 ram really a lot better then the DDR ram? why?
Is the CPU listed for the first two good enough to play online games such as WoW and BF2 for now?
I plan on getting a decent 256mb video card.
Last question...
How do you determine whats good in a video card? Heat Sink, Fan, Pipelines, Clockspeed???

Thanks everyone!
Rinaldi363 is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 09:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

I would go with any of the two top mentioned motherboards instead.

Only high end DDR2 is faster than DDR. So you won't have to worry about using DDR.
turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.