Mobile processor in a Desktop Machine - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2005, 08:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 16
Question Mobile processor in a Desktop Machine

so I have a mobile processor inside of a desktop right?

Well the heat sync is just no quite reaching the processor. I have put on the grease for the processor and it doesnt even touch the grease.

Is there a way of lowering it or do I need some sort of special way of lowring the heat sync a little lower?

You can put mobiles in desktops can't you?
__________________

climbjm is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 09:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 469
Default

you can get a copper shim
__________________

__________________
Death has a thousand doors, let's see which one our victim chose.

"There's one thing that you learn on this job, is that human beings are capable of anything"

If you chase two rabbits, you lose them both

You say tomato... I say cause of death
For sale/trade
http://www.techist.com/pc/f40/fully-...r-fs-t-139695/
microsoftne is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 09:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if the mobile CPU is for the same socket, then yes you can.

what's the CPU and what motherboard are you using?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 11:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 16
Default

I am using this processor:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103490

I am using this Motherboard:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16856101238

I am just thinking about sanding down the little plastic stubs so it sits closer to the mother board, thus allowing the heat sync to sit more snug agaist the processor.

It came with heat sync grease, shouldnt I use those thumb tabs?
climbjm is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 11:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 16
Default

It is just a little barebones, but hey... all the parts were on sale.
climbjm is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 03:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yeah the CPU will work in that motherboard, but I think the reason the heatsink is sitting higher up is because the "normal" Athlon 64's have a metal heat spreader on them, whereas the mobiles don't.

"normal" athlon 64:


mobile Athlon 64:
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 02:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 16
Default

My Solution:
lol, you are going to laugh...

My heat sync was sitting so far away from my processor, it was not even touching the grease so....

I sanded down (2 millimeters) the little plastic stubs (on the plastic heat sync base) so it sits closer to my motherboard, hence making it sitting closer to my processor. I also found an extra fan and rigged it up to blow on it from the side. i had an extra fan from an old 486!!!
climbjm is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 05:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

not laughing... sounds ingenuitive. It's not every day people come in here possessing critical thinking and problem solving skills.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 10:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

All he did was sand down the socket bracket. Not like he's einstein. Theres actually a thread at the offical AMD.com forums where a guy explains how he did it, read HIS, THATS ingenius.
septoid2 is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 07:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
Default

Hey, does the mobile processor preform the same as a normal one? I believe the only difference would be that mobiles use 80-90W which is less than normal to improve battery life... Correct me if i am wrong... I probably am.

Thanks,
Derek
__________________

Ehmon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.