mixing ecc and non-ecc ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2006, 07:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 299
Default mixing ecc and non-ecc ram

i want to buy some ecc PC 800 RAM (because it's availible), but i already have some non ecc.

will it be ok to mix them with my dell mobo or do i need all 4 to be the same?
__________________

Millenniumtiger is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 07:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 109
Default

looks like you can mix and match rdram, it will just default to the lowest speed used or to non ecc if on is non ecc

http://www.memorysuppliers.com/rdramrambusfaq.html
__________________

buyxgmistake is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 08:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Why exactly do you want ECC RAM. It isn't necessary unless you need absolute stability on your server. It is way too expensive too. Your motherboard needs to support ECC, and they usually only support ECC or non-ECC, not both. Just get regular RAM.
Vybuni is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.