Missing SMBus controller - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2012, 04:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: scotland
Posts: 6
Default Missing SMBus controller

Hi people.
Hoping someone can help me with my frustrating problem.

I recently Done a clean install of W XP Pro on my Acer Extensa E210 x32 just to find all my drivers were gone, i dont have the Acer repair CD as i got it second hand, I managed to find and re-install all drivers exept my SMBus Controller driver can anyone direct me in the right direction, hopefully a FREE Driver!!

The Device i need the driver for is:

Intelģ 82801I SMBus Controller (ICH9)
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2930&SUBSYS_02121025&REV_03\3&33F D14CA&0&FB

Thanks friends.
__________________

Cozieboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 04:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,286
Default Re: Missing SMBus controller

Search for the driver on the Acer or Intel sites.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 06:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: scotland
Posts: 6
Default Re: Missing SMBus controller

I've searched Acer and Intel, i think it must be ald older driver as its on none of there sites.
Cozieboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 06:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,286
Default Re: Missing SMBus controller

Download CPU-Z and go to the motherboard tab. Then search for the chipset INF update on Intel's site. If they still have drivers for my old P3 board then they will have drivers for this. It's a case of knowing where to look.

If you want me to do it then take a screenshot of the motherboard tab in CPU-Z and post it here.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 08:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: scotland
Posts: 6
Default Re: Missing SMBus controller

I just cant find this anywhere. sent a pik incase you have more of a clue what your doing (which isnt hard) Lol.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cpu-z.jpg (93.2 KB, 2 views)
Cozieboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 09:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,286
Default Re: Missing SMBus controller

Ok I doubt you have an Intel SMBus controller considering it has an ATI chipset. That would pretty much explain why you have come up with nothing on it.

Try this here. It's the legacy chipset driver from AMD.
ATI Catalyst

Just for the record, you don't really need an SMBus driver at all.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 09:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: scotland
Posts: 6
Default Re: Missing SMBus controller

Cheers but thats for Vista-32 bit and i'm running XP Pro.
I run my PC through Driver Wizz and that said my SMBus controller was Manufactured by Intel.
The SMBus controller controlls the temp and Voltage which (I think) is why my CPU Usage keeps jamming at 100% even tho i'm hardly using anything.
Cozieboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 09:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: scotland
Posts: 6
Default Re: Missing SMBus controller

XP Pro-32 Bit
Cozieboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 09:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,286
Default Re: Missing SMBus controller

All it takes is a little bit of search. It was on XP before, and this is for sure XP.
AMD Chipset Drivers

System Management Bus has nothing to do with temp and voltage. If you want to learn more about it, check here. It's why I said you don't really need it.
SMBus Controller

As for your CPU jamming at 100%, I doubt it's the cause. If a chipset driver update of INF update doesn't install it for me I just leave it. Back in olden days you got better performance leaving it uninstalled but that was with old nForce 2 boards.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 09:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: scotland
Posts: 6
Default Re: Missing SMBus controller

Thanx for that, the Yellow Exclamation mark has gone and it seems to be streesing out less which is weird as what i downloaded looked an awful like the drivers i got with my ATI Graphics card!! (pik attached) computers are weird m8!!
Thanx again.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Graphics card.jpg (45.0 KB, 0 views)
__________________

Cozieboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.