Mirror SSD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-29-2015, 10:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
croSSeduP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Washington State
Posts: 146
Default Mirror SSD

I just bought an OCZ ARC100, 240GB SSD to replace my Crucial M4 64GB drive for my OS and background programs. I would like to make a mirror copy of the M4 on the ARC100 and just replace the M4. What inexpensive or free mirroring software would you guys recommend? Thanks.
__________________

croSSeduP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2015, 10:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Mirror SSD

CloneZilla to clone, and then GParted to resize the partition to take full space of the new SSD.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 03:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
croSSeduP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Washington State
Posts: 146
Default Re: Mirror SSD

Golden. Thanks, carnageX.
It took me several hours to figure out using CloneZilla and GParted, but I got it done, and after using GParted to expand my 240GB SSD to its full volume, I did not need to repair W7 with the install disk, so bonus there.
However, there's a new problem...
I did all of this to upgrade to W10. While it was installing it has "hung up" on the screen that says "We'll be ready soon" and "Don't turn off your PC" for many hours. I did a Google search for this problem and didn't find anything helpful. Thoughts?
croSSeduP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 04:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Mirror SSD

Would recommend just doing a clean install of Win10 honestly. Seens several issues with people doing the upgrade, and doing a clean install is just easier.

You can do this directly now with the latest build of Win10 if you create the Install Media from here: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...load/windows10

You can input your Win7 key directly during the install process with the latest build (10586), and it should activate fine.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 04:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
croSSeduP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Washington State
Posts: 146
Default Re: Mirror SSD

Thanks, will give it a go.
Oh, one other question... I want to format my Crucial SSD for more storage, but because it was cloned there is a operation conflict when I try to start the computer with both SSD's hooked up, even if I specifically choose to start from the OCZ SSD. How do I format that Crucial disk?
croSSeduP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 04:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Mirror SSD

Format it with GParted.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDD to SSD migration: mirror or clone HDD or reinstall everything fresh hyongx New Systems | Building and Buying 4 08-29-2011 05:16 PM
Can you have a SSD 60GB as a boot drive and a 500GB HDD for storage but have smart response enabled on the SSD? matteuk New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-27-2011 01:12 PM
mSATA SSD vs SATA SSD Jayce Laptops and Notebooks 1 06-29-2011 10:11 AM
SSD TRIM Function Intel X25 SSD thesilversavers Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 19 05-22-2011 10:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.