A minor upgrade (Attempt #2) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2008, 02:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default A minor upgrade (Attempt #2)

OK. If this posts twice, it's not my fault... The page went blank the first time and I don't think it posted...

Anywho, I'm getting tired of my Athlon 3500+ and it's slowness to everything I try to do with it nowadays. So I figure I would upgrade it a little bit...

I'll be switching over to an Intel system, as the Core 2's pounded the crap out of the Athlons.

Canada Computers - Motherboards > Socket LGA775/T : Asus P5KPL-VM Socket 775 Intel G31 + ICH7 Dual Channel DDR2 800/667Mhz Intel GMA 3100 GigaLAN 6-Ch HD Audio Support Intel Core 2 Duo / Core 2 Quad Micro ATX.

Canada Computers - Memory > Desktop Memory > DDR2 800 PC2-6400+ : OCZ (OCZ2P800R22GK) DDR2 PC2-6400 800MHz Platinum XTC Revision 2 2GB (2x1024MB) Dual Channel Kit.

Canada Computers - CPU > Desktop Intel Processors : Intel Core 2 Duo E4600 Socket LGA775, 2.4 GHz, 800 MHz FSB, 2MB L2 Cache, 65nm (Retail Box) (BX80557E4600).

It's just a Mobo, CPU, and RAM upgrade. All-in-all, a pretty cheap ($320, $290 after MIR to be exact) upgrade.

If anyone can suggest a better upgrade for a reasonable price, I'm open to suggestions.

P.S. I'll be purchasing the parts on my next pay cheque, which is next Thursday, so I have until then to decide.
__________________

blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 02:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 539
Default Re: A minor upgrade (Attempt #2)

you could of a e2200 for 40 less and overclock it but that core looks aight to me.
__________________

harnar123 is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 02:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: A minor upgrade (Attempt #2)

Canada Computers - Motherboards > Socket LGA775/T : Gigabyte GA-G31M-S2L Socket 775 Intel G31 + ICH7 Dual-Channel DDR2 800/667Mhz GigaLAN 5.1 Ch Audio Support 1333Mhz FSB.
Gigabyte version. Like harnar said if you don't mind having less cache you could grab an e2200 or e2180.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 03:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 539
Default Re: A minor upgrade (Attempt #2)

also isn't the p35-ds3l better?
harnar123 is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 03:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: A minor upgrade (Attempt #2)

microATX???

get a full size.



(i would find one for you but i dont feel like navigating thru that website i am too tired)
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 03:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default Re: A minor upgrade (Attempt #2)

Canada Computers - Motherboards > Socket LGA775/T : Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L Socket 775 Intel P35 + ICH9 Dual-Channel DDR2 1066/800/667/533Mhz GigaLAN 8-Channel Audio Support 1333Mhz FSB.

Decided to spend the extra $20 and get the full-size p35-ds3l.

I'm going to keep the e4600 though, as I don't plan on overclocking.
blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 01:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 539
Default Re: A minor upgrade (Attempt #2)

good choice, that thing has excellent ratings from what I have read. Just no it doesn't come with raid, you gotta step up like 20 dollars more about to get that.
harnar123 is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 02:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default Re: A minor upgrade (Attempt #2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by harnar123 View Post
good choice, that thing has excellent ratings from what I have read. Just no it doesn't come with raid, you gotta step up like 20 dollars more about to get that.
I'll live. I don't have two SATA hard-drives to use RAID on anyways.
__________________

blackhawk13 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First OC Attempt.... Successful failure IBM/PS1 Overclocking and Modding 4 01-03-2008 06:49 AM
Wire-managment Attempt!!! *pics* nhlrocker New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-19-2007 02:54 AM
First Attempt at New Gaming Rig ~ Please Advise Bot2011 New Systems | Building and Buying 40 05-30-2007 06:47 AM
Router reboots when attempt to access config edvosder Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 04-03-2007 03:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.