*MINIMUM* resolution - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2007, 04:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 8
Default *MINIMUM* resolution

I have an older HP workstation, dual 500mhz p3's and 256megs of ram. Its running windows 2000 and I am looking to put in in a bedroom to use for music, movies, and internet. I want to use the TV as a monitor to keep things integrated and compact. I have a computer that uses a 9200 with s-video out and the lowest I can display is 800x600. If i concentrate, I can read words on the TV from about 3 feet away. The lower the resolution is, the better I can read it. There are so many cheap video cards with tv-output but I want to find one that will let me use a low resolution so I can get a usable image on the tv.
__________________

dero is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 07:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the video card is not the problem.

go to start -> run -> regedt32

go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\ControlSet0001\Services\ati2mta g\DALNonStandardModesBCD

or it might be \ControlSet0002 ... 000x

look for ati2mtag

Example for adding the CustomRes 640 x 480:

Add Dword (hexadecimal) value: 0640048000000000

Reboot.

After reboot the new resolution should be available.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 10:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks! I never thought of doing something like that. I just figured it wasn't able to produce that resolution for some reason. Is that pretty universal for all of ati's cards?
dero is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 05:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I think so.

a standard TV's natural resolution is 640 x 480 as well, if I recall correctly.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 08:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 8
Default

thanks again. Time to do some shopping.
dero is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 08:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You can adjust the font size.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 04:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 8
Default

heh...good point. But it still wont do any good for words in an image. It will help out pretty much everywhere else though.
dero is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 12:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 8
Default

There should be a way to do this with pretty much any card right? I know this stuff is probably much more retro than what is usually discussed but I am looking at radeon 7000's and mx440's. I need something to work in a 3.3v slot.
dero is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 01:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Using a regular CRT TV for computer use will cause headaches at higher resolutions... I can't even read text from my 360 dashboard for more than 15 minutes without feeling weird.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 02:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Thats why I want to go low. Stuff like this usually doesn't bother me so I think I should be ok. the tv's main use will be just to navigate to music or movies and display the movies. I doubt it will see too much web browsing unless it works out really well.
__________________

dero is offline  
Closed Thread

« LCD Monitor | Ram? »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.