Micro atx case with atx psu? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2005, 08:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Question Micro atx case with atx psu?

I have a micro atx case and since i just bought a new geforce 6600 i want a better psu than the 350 watt one i have now so i can be able tp play games without my pc shutting off on me. All the micro atx psu's are only like 300 watts and 350 watts, and the ones thta are like 450 are really expensive. Is there any way so that i can have an atx psu in my micro atx case or will i just have to buy a micro atx psu?

P.S. If anybody sees a 425+ watt micro atx psu for cheap then let me know i already looked at newegg but double checking doesn't hurt.


Thanx guys
__________________

BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 02:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Break out the measuring tape.

Measure the PSU in your case to make sure that it is a mATX PSU and not a ATX one. Also measure how much room you have in your case for a PSU.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 03:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i have micro ATX case that supports a full ATX PSU.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 09:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Cool k

thanx a lot huys i guess i should measure and see if it fits. If not then i will just try to find a cheap 425+watt micro atx PSU. Thanx guys
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 09:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Question ok now................

i checked my psu and i think it can hold a regular size psu in it. It says atx 2.03 on the side so i never bought a powersupply before i just used the one that came with my case so i don't know exactly what 2.03 means after the atx. Can someone help me out here if they know what kind of psu i have ?thanx in advance.
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 06:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

give us a picture of the case
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 06:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default ok here is a pic of it

http://centralcomputer.com/itemdetai...m=CASMGCATX01R
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 07:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

im pretty sure that it will support a full sized ATX power supply
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 07:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Yeah, I figured mATX cases only meant being shorter for the smaller motherboard, having nothing to do with the PSU.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 08:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

k thnx guys sweet.
__________________

BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.