MEMORY vs. Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2008, 10:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 47
Default MEMORY vs. Computer

I have bought new 1GB DDR2 memory and put replaced my old 256MB in my computer. When I turned the computer on, I was greeted by a black screen. No BIOS beeping, nothing - only fan and some limited HDD activity.) I put the old one in, at it worked O.K. Then I put the new one again - nothing. Finally, I put the original one in and the computer stopped working - black screen, only fan was on.

any ideas?

Man rui
__________________

__________________
---------------------------------------------
Compaq Presario 1700T
800Mhz, 128 MB Pc 100 SDRAM
Windows Me
yangmanrui is offline  
Old 06-06-2008, 02:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: MEMORY vs. Computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by yangmanrui View Post
I have bought new 1GB DDR2 memory and put replaced my old 256MB in my computer. When I turned the computer on, I was greeted by a black screen. No BIOS beeping, nothing - only fan and some limited HDD activity.) I put the old one in, at it worked O.K. Then I put the new one again - nothing. Finally, I put the original one in and the computer stopped working - black screen, only fan was on.

any ideas?

Man rui
Take out your CMOS battery for 15 seconds and then put it back in and take the jumper and move it from pins 1 and 2 to 2 and 3 for 5 seconds and then move it back to 1 and 2.

Any questions just ask.

also did you make sure that your RAM was the same type as your old one or your computer supports that type of ram.

Like DDR 667 or DDR 800 you have to make sure that they are the same or your motherboard supports that type.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 06-09-2008, 09:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 47
Default Re: MEMORY vs. Computer

Thank you very, very much for that piece of advice. I just removed the battery, popped it back in and my old memory started to work. You're right about the speed, the new one was 667, however the box indicated that it was compatible with the old one.
thanks again,


Man rui
__________________
---------------------------------------------
Compaq Presario 1700T
800Mhz, 128 MB Pc 100 SDRAM
Windows Me
yangmanrui is offline  
Old 06-09-2008, 09:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: MEMORY vs. Computer

If you have a system that is just 256mb of ram, it is probably DDR memory and NOT DDR2. You will have to find out what types of memory your motherboard supports before buying new memory.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 06-09-2008, 06:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: MEMORY vs. Computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by yangmanrui View Post
Thank you very, very much for that piece of advice. I just removed the battery, popped it back in and my old memory started to work. You're right about the speed, the new one was 667, however the box indicated that it was compatible with the old one.
thanks again,


Man rui
Your Welcome and Surge is right try to find out what speed and type of ram your motherboard is compatable with before you try to upgrade yourself.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 06-10-2008, 07:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 47
Default Re: MEMORY vs. Computer

I checked and the correct memory is DDR2 pc2 4200 at 533Mhz. ( That's the original one).
Manrui
__________________
---------------------------------------------
Compaq Presario 1700T
800Mhz, 128 MB Pc 100 SDRAM
Windows Me
yangmanrui is offline  
Old 06-10-2008, 09:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: MEMORY vs. Computer

Could the slot not support 1Gig sticks?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-10-2008, 11:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: MEMORY vs. Computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Could the slot not support 1Gig sticks?
There are rare occasions where the slot doesnt like to have more than a 512mb stuck in it but thats rare. All you really need is to have the propper type and speed of ram and 99.99999% of the time it works.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 10 04-10-2009 06:24 PM
G.Skill memory problems kar916 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-31-2008 07:15 AM
Virtual memory KathyD System Upgrades 7 02-26-2008 04:55 PM
Computer running out of Virtual Memory. Ckivi Viruses, Spyware and Malware 6 04-25-2007 04:09 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.