Memory Upgrade help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2006, 03:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 373
Default Memory Upgrade help

I'm a complete novice when it comes to upgrades. I own a Dell Dimension 4600 with 256K memory (2 * 128). I want to upgrade to at least to 512K or possibly higher.

Anyone know a reliable place to buy memory cheap? Dell does not sell less than 512K and supposedly I have to install memory in pairs? (True?)

So anyone know where I should buy the memory for cheap and reliable? Any suggestions? Should I get two more 128? Two more 256? Is it simple to install memory and is it as simple as "plug in and play?"

Any info or help is very much appreciated. Thanks....
__________________

bagelred is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 04:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

I severly doubt that your Dell has 256K of Memory; it's probably 256MB. Just figure out what type of RAM you have and go to a site like newegg.com to buy it.

RAM is not that hard to install.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 04:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

get a pair of 256mb sticks and shove them in your computer.

www.newegg.com

Find out what kind of ram you have. If you have any type of DDR, then buy PC 3200 ram.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 04:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 373
Default

Thanks for replies.

Woops! I meant 256 MB...you are right.

What type of RAM do I have? I don't even know how to check. Complete novice...

What is PC3200? Is that the manufacturer or the type of memory? Explain it to me like I'm a 5 year old....lol...thanks....

And what is DDR?
bagelred is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 06:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I looked into your desktop. You do use PC 3200 DDR, as I was hoping, and all you should need to do is pull out your ram and replace it with these. I think you'll be a happy camper.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145440

Ryan

on edit: hold off on the purchase. Does anyone else know if Dell uses proprietary DIMM modules? I don't know if the key will be in a different spot.
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.