Memory Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2006, 03:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 47
Default Memory Upgrade

I have a custom-built machine that has only 512 mb of ram. I just bought the same stick to put in the 2nd slot but when i turn on my computer after installing it, the computer beeps and the monitor doesn't turn on. Has anyone seen something like this?
__________________

polakbob is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 07:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Which slots do you have them in. Also check the motherboard's manual, on which is the correct slots, in order to boot correctly. Try other slots. Also it might be possible that the stick you got is bad. But check the other slots first.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 11:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 47
Default

There are only 2 slots to put the memory in. If i put the new stick in where the other stick was, the computer boots just fine. If I put either stick in the 2nd slot, the computer doesn't boot.
polakbob is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 12:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

- What motherboard is it?
- What type of memory are you using?
- Are you sure they are exactly the same (the same memory speed)?
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 12:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 47
Default

Winfast motherboard (exact model I don't know where to find)

Corsair 400mhz memory
polakbob is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 02:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

To find out your motherboard model, download a program called CPU-Z:
http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php

Then go to the mainboard tab, it will tell you. Also if you said neither stick works in the 2nd slot. Maybe it's possible the 2nd slot is faulty.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 05:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 47
Default

Thanks for the tip. Interesting results. Everything matched very well except that the 2nd stick has 2 different frequencies. In my old stick, under the SPD tab, there is one timing table listed;

Frequency 200 Mhz
CAS# Latency 2.5
RAS# to CAS# 3
RAS# Precharge 3
Tras 8

The new stick listed This;

Frequency 133 Mhz 200 Mhz
CAS# Latency 2.0 2.5
RAS# to CAS# 2 3
RAS# Precharge 2 3
Tras 6 8


As you can see, there are to columns in the new stick. Would this make a difference. I physically adjusted the values in my BIOS to match the old stick's columns but to no avail. Any ideas?
polakbob is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 02:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Does either stick work in both RAM slots? (One at a time, I mean)
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 02:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 47
Default

Yeah.
polakbob is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 11:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Could it mean that the motherboard cannot handle more then 512mb ram? Because I had the same happen to me. I had this motherboard that wouldn't post when I put more than 512 ram on it. What is the specs on your motherboard, model, etc...
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.