memory question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2014, 06:01 PM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default Re: memory question

Yea, tell your bios to boot from your main drive that Windows is installed on.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 06:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 76
Default Re: memory question

Anyway i fixed that missing thing. Do i have to update my bios for the old memory to work properly?

Okay I removed one of the old one and it booted okay.
__________________

ncore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 06:46 PM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default Re: memory question

Something is causing an incompatibility. Just manually set the speed, voltage, and timings. Although, if you already had 8GB of RAM there isn't much reason to add more RAM.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 07:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: memory question

I'm running types on ram on mine with no issue. I however did set the speed manually in bios.


Sent from my iPhone using Tech-Forums
__________________

__________________
AsRock z97x,i5 4690k@ 4.4ghz, Custom Water Loop, Nvidia 980TI 6GB, Corsair Dominators Platinum 16GB 2666mhz ,250 SSD,2TB,2TB Drive ,EVGA Supernova 750G2 PSU,NZXT H440 white. Asus 24" 144hz, LG 42" led lcd.
Drogos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory Stick vs Memory Stick Pro vs Memory Stick Pro Duo jbc Digital Photography and Imaging 6 03-06-2010 09:47 AM
Unbuffered System Memory vs Registered System Memory LoneWolf Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-01-2005 07:25 PM
crucial memory vs corsair memory salami1212 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 06-30-2005 02:39 PM
Faster memory or More memory? Kangaroo Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 05-10-2005 10:52 AM
high memory and conventional memory rookie1010 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-12-2004 06:39 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.