Memory modules - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2009, 06:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Question Memory modules

I have an old toshiba portege 4005 that I want to upgrade with more memory. It has two slots and I want to install 512 MBs in each. Two questions:
1. I have seen a wide variety of prices on the internet. Does it make a difference if you use a house brand vs. a name brand?
2. The computer runs at 776 MHz and currently has 256 MBs of memory. Do you think this upgrade will make a significant difference?

Thanks.
__________________

LuLu W. is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 07:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Memory modules

1. Generally you're better off buying a good brand like Corsair, G.Skill or OCZ, if only for the lifetime warranties.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is online now  
Old 08-27-2009, 02:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Memory modules

2. Yes
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Increase graphics memory 808Alaska Overclocking and Modding 1 06-24-2009 10:21 AM
Web Browser Memory Usage Benchmark Gets It All Wrong Osiris Internet Software and Browsers 1 06-21-2009 05:27 PM
Micron enters graphics memory business thirdshiftdj New Technology and Products 3 05-17-2009 05:37 PM
DDR3 Memory / 1333Mhz Read Error Pezzy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-16-2009 01:24 PM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.