Memory, dual channel or not - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-12-2014, 10:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: DFW area
Posts: 10
Default Memory, dual channel or not

Didn't want my first post to be a question yet here I am. I am putting a system together for my grand daughters (ages 6,10,14) and am at the point to select memory. My question is should I get one 4gb stick or 2x2gb to take advantage of the dual channel. The system is using a Asus P8 H61-M LE R2.0 motherboard, Intel G2130 cpu, and WD caviar 1600 SE running Windows 7 home. They will be using it mainly for playing kids games on the internet with the 14 year old sometime using Word for her homework. I'm stuck, single channel or dual? I am planning on using the cpu for graphics but I do have a GeForce 8400 GS 1gb ddr3 to get around the shared memory if it can preform as well as the Intel. Thanks for any opinions on this.
Dallas Jack
__________________

Dallas Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 10:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,303
Default Re: Memory, dual channel or not

Dual channel is better, but in this case stick with the single stick so you have an upgrade option later. Yourself and the kids won't notice the difference.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 12:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: DFW area
Posts: 10
Default Re: Memory, dual channel or not

Thanks for the quick reply. 1 stick it is then. Anyone have any suggestions on the video.
Dallas Jack
Dallas Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 06:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,303
Default Re: Memory, dual channel or not

All either of them are good for is putting display on the screen. For simplicity I would stick with the Intel HD.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 11:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: DFW area
Posts: 10
Default Re: Memory, dual channel or not

Yeah, that's all it's good for but I think that's all that is needed here. The only reason I was considering the card was to get back the shared memory that the onboard graphics would use. Thanks for your advice.
Dallas Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 06:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,303
Default Re: Memory, dual channel or not

If you're not gaming it won't use much RAM for video. You can always put the 8400 in the machine to see if it helps at all as it wouldn't hurt.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 02:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: DFW area
Posts: 10
Default Re: Memory, dual channel or not

Well the grandkids show up this evening and I hadn't got the memory ordered yet. Set up an old laptop running Vista on 2gb and it went fine. I'll order the memory next week and use the intergrated video. Thanks again.
Dallas Jack
Dallas Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2014, 09:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,303
Default Re: Memory, dual channel or not

Vista with only 2GB, oh my
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2014, 12:10 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: DFW area
Posts: 10
Default Re: Memory, dual channel or not

Update.
Got the memory the other day. Ended up ordering 2x2gb G.skill Ripjaws kit to take advantage of the dual channel.

Installed it and fired it up. Got rewarded with an endless cycle of it coming on for one second and then shutting down.

Pulled the memory one stick at a time. No difference and no beeps.

I have already taken it all apart and will start over from scratch. I will build it out of the case first just to eliminate a short when installed.
Dallas Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2014, 07:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: DFW area
Posts: 10
Default Re: Memory, dual channel or not

Found the problem. Bent pins on the socket, my fault. Replaced it with an ASRock H61M-DSG motherboard. All working fine now. Thanks for the help.
__________________

Dallas Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2gb + 4 gb Dual Channel/Dual Channel RAM Question... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 1 03-04-2011 01:48 AM
Dual Channel PC2-5300 beats Dual Channel PC2-6400? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 09-14-2007 07:03 PM
1gb of ram in dual channel vs 1.5gb in non dual channel? dario03 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 07-27-2006 01:54 PM
Will Upgrading From DDR266 Single Channel to Dual Channel DDR400 Boost Doom 3 AMD_Rules Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 08-06-2005 07:03 PM
Dual Channel or No Dual Channel Sprooty Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 11 05-10-2005 04:39 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.