Memory 1.9v in Motherboard 1.8v? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2008, 02:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 286
Default Memory 1.9v in Motherboard 1.8v?

If the motherboard requires the memory to be 1.8v and does not have an option to allow users to change the voltage, would a 1.9v memory work with this motherboard? I ask this because some motherboards are very picky with their memory.
__________________

bonoz is offline  
Old 02-04-2008, 03:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Memory 1.9v in Motherboard 1.8v?

What motherboard and what memory?
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-04-2008, 05:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 286
Default Re: Memory 1.9v in Motherboard 1.8v?

Motherboard: Newegg.com - Intel BOXDG965RYCK LGA 775 Intel G965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

Memory: Newegg.com - CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

Motherboard accepts 1.8v; Memory is 1.9v. Is that enough to get me to buy a memory that IS 1.8v?
bonoz is offline  
Old 02-04-2008, 06:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Memory 1.9v in Motherboard 1.8v?

Most new 775 boards have a default memory voltage of 1.8v, but the corsair memory should automatically set itself to 1.9v.

Matter of fact, if you are interested, i'm selling a set of that exact memory for 40 bucks including shipping. It runs perfectly fine at 4-4-4-12.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-04-2008, 07:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Memory 1.9v in Motherboard 1.8v?

well can the memory voltage be upded in the bios? I remember something about Intel mobos not having much ocing features. if can get your memory to 1.9v it should run fine, if its stuck at 1.8v then your memory speed speed or its cas latency will slow down to stay stable at 1.8v

my ocz ram runs at 5-4-4-15 at 2.1v but default it will run 6-6-6-18 at 1.8v when i first started thecomputer.
__________________
Runnin' Stock, Cool, Quiet and Fast
Q6700
Thermaltake Big Typhoon w/ Scythe Kama PWN Fan
MSI P6N SLI Platinum
OCZ Vista Performance Platinum 4x2GB
2x Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB RAID 0
HD Radeon 3450 *Temp* *8800GT SLI Coming*
Acer AL2216W 22" LCD Monitor + 17" Samsung Sync Master 750
Antec TruePower Trio 650 Watt
Power Up Standard
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
darksideleader is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.Skill memory problems kar916 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-31-2008 07:15 AM
memory or motherboard pha3r0 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 12-15-2007 11:00 PM
Problems with Memory affecting SATA drive? DJUDX Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 11-30-2007 06:33 PM
Not sure if I have a motherboard or memory problem. Chosenbkr Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 10-04-2007 08:17 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.