Memory 1 1gb stick and 1 512mb stick - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2006, 01:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default Memory 1 1gb stick and 1 512mb stick

Can you put one stick of 512mb in one slot and one stick of 1gig in another with dual channel? I've been told that its best to get 2 sticks with the same amount of memory. What kind of performance will I have. Please Help!
__________________

strife1344 is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 01:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

You can put the 2 sticks together, but they won't run in dual-channel mode. You will however see an increase in performance from your current setup.
__________________

__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 01:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Okay, thanks! Would two sticks of 512 in dual channel run faster the one 512 and one 1gig stck?
strife1344 is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 02:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

yes
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 02:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the quick replys!
strife1344 is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 08:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Bear in mind that for dual channel to work your need to use two identical modules.

Both sticks mush have the same chip density, be single/double sided, and run at the same latencies (if the latencies aren't the same your bandwidth may drop as often your mobo will underclock the slower chip to 166 to get the same timings).

Its preferable to use the same part from the same manufacturer, this is why dual channel "kits" exist.
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.