Mem upgrade and CPU question. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2007, 10:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 14
Default Mem upgrade and CPU question.

I have an AMD 64 FX-57, Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe motherboard, and 2 identical Corsair 3200 1gb sticks of ram in my PC. I am doing some upgrading and was wondering if its bad to add 2 sticks of identical Corsair 3200 512mb dual channel sticks in my other two slots? I heard some things about it may not be as efficient to use all 4 slots. Not too informed on this, specifically with this type of motherboard, could someone fill me in?

I also am shopping for a new CPU that works with my current socket 939 motherboard or a newer Asus A8N 32-SLI-Deluxe NVIDIA Socket 939 ATX Motherboard and saw these two. Is there any difference between these 3? If so which is best and why? The Tiger direct deal with a free OEM version of windows vista is nice.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...?EdpNo=2901402

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103608

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103861
__________________

crazz2323 is offline  
Old 02-10-2007, 11:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Wow thats a good deal from tigerdirect. The last one...you can't use because, it socket AM2.

You already have 2gb of ram, getting more than that will, slow you down. But then if you get that deal from tiger, it comes with vista. From what I heard, vista can handle more than 2gb effectively, unlike XP. I could be wrong.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 02-10-2007, 11:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 14
Default

Really? more than 2 gig on an XP system will slow me down? I hope someone can verify about Vista handling more than 2 gigs well. Especially with my motherboard. Thanks for the reply.
crazz2323 is offline  
Old 02-10-2007, 03:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 33
Send a message via Yahoo to aeckler1981
Default

as far as I have heard Vista can handle more than just 2 gb of ram. I think if i remember right it can handle up to 8gb's but don't quote me on that.
aeckler1981 is offline  
Old 02-10-2007, 03:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 14
Default

Ok, I did some testing and with the two 1gig PC3200 and the two 512mb PC3200 ram sticks in, my BIOS reads this:

Memclock index value (Mhz) 333mhz
CAS# latency (TCL) 3
Min RAS# active time (Tras) 7T
RAS# to CAS# delay (Trcd) 3T
Row percharge Time (Trp) 3T
Row cycle time (Trc) 10T
Row refresh cyc time (Trfc) 11T
Read-to-Write time (Trwt) 4T
Write recovery time (Twr) 3T
1T/2T Memory Timing 2T

and with just the two 1 gig 3200 sticks in it reads this:

Memclock index value (Mhz) 400mhz
CAS# latency (TCL) 3
Min RAS# active time (Tras) 8T
RAS# to CAS# delay (Trcd) 3T
Row percharge Time (Trp) 3T
Row cycle time (Trc) 11T
Row refresh cyc time (Trfc) 13T
Read-to-Write time (Trwt) 5T
Write recovery time (Twr) 3T
1T/2T Memory Timing 2T

So i see what you mean by it dropping to 333mhz. Guess from these numbers it is best to stick with 2 gig using only 2 slots. So if Windows Vista handles the memory better then when using all 4 slots, it should be at 400mhz like it is with only 2 sticks?
crazz2323 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.