Meh a problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2007, 07:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Phase-Six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 250
Default Meh a problem

So the other day I messed up my windows xp and I was wondering if I could plug 2 sata harddrives together (I have like 4 slots to plug into) and install windows on one and clear the messed up harddrive. Just wondering if windows would bring up the messed up harddrive or something. Btw on the messed up windows harddrive what it does is Just keep restarting and wont let me choose the option "Open windows with command prompt" or whatever. So yeah thats my plans obtain a cheap sata harddrive and then install windows, clear old harddrive I want to use out. and then install windows on that one. Just making sure my plan is going to work.
__________________

Phase-Six is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 07:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Meh a problem

why not format the current hd?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 07:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Phase-Six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 250
Default Re: Meh a problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
why not format the current hd?
I cant get to anything on the harddrive to do so... I can only get to my bios before it restarts itself.
Phase-Six is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 07:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: Meh a problem

For once, PeterHuang has something of value to say. Reformat the "messed up" hard drive, and reinstall windows. Viola.
motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 07:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Meh a problem

once?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 07:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Phase-Six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 250
Default Re: Meh a problem

Okay im going to say this again. I cant get to anywhere with it plugged in to reformat it. I cant get into windows or get to the command prompt. Anywhere else I could do this?
Phase-Six is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 07:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Meh a problem

you cant boot off cd?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 07:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Phase-Six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 250
Default Re: Meh a problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
you cant boot off cd?
nope when I do this it says create new directory or delete and I do both to see what it will do and it does nothing. So yeah Im just going to get this 39.99 harddrive so I can just clear the other one. Can I still do this?
Phase-Six is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 07:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Meh a problem

If you get a new hd to clear the old one, i dont think thatll help. I think the current hd is dying.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 07:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Phase-Six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 250
Default Re: Meh a problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
If you get a new hd to clear the old one, i dont think thatll help. I think the current hd is dying.
But will it still clear it? Im willing to take the chance for it to clear it and if it doesnt work ill save for a new one. Btw I have another question. I have this mother board with a celeron in it and 1gb of ram and it takes agp. What are the chances of it take the old 2x/4x agp cards? I dont have the manual for this and I was thinking it is probably going to take 4x/8x.
__________________

Phase-Six is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Media Library (I Presume) Problem. Nadegas Microsoft Windows and Software 4 06-08-2007 08:27 AM
Computer problem ankit3000 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 06-06-2007 04:42 PM
Software installation problem..... -RockMan- Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-30-2007 04:10 AM
cant find the problem... Jhill1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 05-07-2007 04:51 PM
Chronic Rebooting Problem AND_YOU_ARE Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-24-2007 06:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.