Maybe that was the problem? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2005, 12:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default Maybe that was the problem?

First off, as some of you may know, about 4-5 months ago my computer broke, and nobody could figure out how to fix it. So 4-5 months later ( yesterday) my dad took it to a comp guy because he needed it for his office, because I am getting a new comp anyways. Turns out the I blew out the hard drive, and I'm blaming battlefield 2, because it was the last thing that I was running/installing before the computer crashed and burned. So anyways, he's replacing it with a 120 gig seagate, which is a lot better quality then WD, so anyways, just thought I'd let you all know.
__________________

Powerslave is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 01:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default Re: Maybe that was the problem?

Quote:
Originally posted by p0werslave
First off, as some of you may know, about 4-5 months ago my computer broke, and nobody could figure out how to fix it. So 4-5 months later ( yesterday) my dad took it to a comp guy because he needed it for his office, because I am getting a new comp anyways. Turns out the I blew out the hard drive, and I'm blaming battlefield 2, because it was the last thing that I was running/installing before the computer crashed and burned. So anyways, he's replacing it with a 120 gig seagate, which is a lot better quality then WD, so anyways, just thought I'd let you all know.
hard drives just die.. either old age, stress, shock (physical and static) heat not really possible for software to damage them Unless they are forced low level to Over spin the heads)

and yes WD's are Pieces of shi.....
__________________

kiyotaka is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 05:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 656
Default

It was probably due to a cheap PSU
dnoch is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 12:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

who here is saying WD is crap? They're awesome drives. Seriously, it's up there with Seagate. They both beat Maxtor. Wow, I want to know how you can move to think that WD are no good...

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 01:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Wait, are you telling me noone here or even you couldn't figure out that the Harddrive just died and the rest of the computer was fine? Where are your guys trouble shooting skills?

Your first clue shoulda been that it got through POST but wouldn't load an OS. IM sorry I wasn't here to figure it out. a craped HD would not cause a whole computer not to start.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 01:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
Wait, are you telling me noone here or even you couldn't figure out that the Harddrive just died and the rest of the computer was fine? Where are your guys trouble shooting skills?

Your first clue shoulda been that it got through POST but wouldn't load an OS. IM sorry I wasn't here to figure it out. a craped HD would not cause a whole computer not to start.
I told them what happened when I booted up the computer, and everyone just said take out the cmos batttery, which never worked, and none of them said my hard drive blew out..

BTW I never said WD are crap, it served me well for 5 years.
Powerslave is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 01:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dnoch
It was probably due to a cheap PSU
It was a gateway, so I could imagine the PSU being cheap. When my dad took it to the computer guy, he said there was absoloutly nothing wrong with the PSU, just the hard drive.
Powerslave is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 01:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

I would still replace PSU, Lol, it TT don't get me started. and wow im stuned at the help you got the first time you asked for it. just wow.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 01:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
I would still replace PSU, Lol, it TT don't get me started. and wow im stuned at the help you got the first time you asked for it. just wow.
Doesn't matter anymore though. I don't have any reason to replace the PSU because I'm not going to be using that computer anymore.
Powerslave is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 01:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

ah yes, not yours who really cares.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.