May I cange unichrom to NVIDIA or ATI? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2006, 04:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6
Default May I cange unichrom to NVIDIA or ATI?

Is possible in computer with Intel Pentium D "dual core x2", 775 Pin VIA chipset motherboard and Unichrome Pro3D to change graphic card to NVIDIA or ATI graphic cards?
__________________

azfeniks is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 04:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

IF it has an AGP, PCI, or PCI-E slot.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 04:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by macdude425
IF it has an AGP, PCI, or PCI-E slot.
But how can I find it out?
azfeniks is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 04:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Space Ninja Pirate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 586
Default

You have to open up your case and look at your mobo.
__________________
TheDiceman is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 04:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Thank you very much.
azfeniks is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 07:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

or get cpu-z (google it) and it should say there
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 07:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

sorry, editing again (i thought u had SiS)

anyway, as you have VIA, the Only VIA chpset for LGA775 that came with onBoard graphics was P4M800 Pro chipset, coming with UniChrome graphics, and also it does comes with external VGA support but for AGP only (not the PCI)

so you have to get a VGA card with AGP slot, which you can buy both in nVidia and ATi as well, for surety, open your casing and you'll see a Brown color slot just below the CPU (the first slot). that is AGP and can support your graphics card with AGP format.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.