Max LAN Speed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2006, 02:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 238
Default Max LAN Speed

What does max LAN speed mean? On this motherboard I have it says 10/100Mbps and on others I see it says 10/100/1000Mbps. What is the difference. Is 10/100Mbps bad?
__________________

xtpacygax is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 02:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

10/100 isnt bad, but 10/100/1000 is better if you have a gigabit switch/router/hub.


They're just different speeds, 10megabits per second, 100 megabits per second and 1000 megabits per second (AKA gigabit).

They are different standards and back in the olden days cards that were compatible with both we're known as "10/100." But now that we have 1000mbit, its 10/100/1000.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 02:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 238
Default

So does this mean that now I am going to have a slower internet connection?
xtpacygax is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 03:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Nope, usually cable is like 4.5megabits per second and DSL is like 1.5, you can do the math.
The General is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 03:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

if you have 101megabits per second ISP then there will be some bottlenecking. but since i doubt you have anywhere near that.. you're fine for another 8 years or so (by then 100mbps connections should be available! and your comp will be obsolete)
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 03:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

There aren't ANY ISP's that would use the potential of a 1000Mb/s setup.

I think the only use of it is if you had a home/office network, with ALL counterparts using gigabit hardware, and of course, cables that would support it.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 05:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 190
Send a message via AIM to the yellow one
Default

man company's own inner fiber networks are like crazy fast. there's where it's useful
__________________
I am the yellow one.
the yellow one is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 06:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

most nic cards you will find are 10/100 (10MB/100MB) that's basically the range that it can xfer data... add the 1000 (mb) and you've got a gigbyte lan... but like it was said unless you have some serious business or work for the Gov't... you'll never see any where close to 100 meg for at least another 5-10 years in the US. your connection speed depends on your Internet provider/cable company/whoever supplies your connection.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 03:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

also like peeps said
home networks will benifit from it
but if u just hav one computer conected to a broadband line then there is absolutely no point in worrying
the fastes speed ive seen commercially available is 24Mbps no wer near 100Mbps
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 05:21 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 238
Default

Ah, now I understand how it works. Thanks for clearing that up guys.
__________________

xtpacygax is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.