Master-Slave setup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2008, 04:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Default Master-Slave setup

Is it ok to have a master CD-drive and a slave harddrive on the same PATA ribbon cable? Do I need to mess with the jumpers on the back of these devices if I put them in this configuration?


NanoWarrior is offline  
Old 11-27-2008, 04:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Lexluethar's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Master-Slave setup

If it boots up and loads properly then it should be okay and isn't going to hurt anything.

Ideally (and what you should do IF it isn't booting) is put the hard drive as master, and the CD as slave, then put both of their jumpers to either cable select or set their jumpers to master/slave as they are setup on the PATA cable.

-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 11-27-2008, 06:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
eyeCpc's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Master-Slave setup

Whether the optical drive is mastered at the end or slaved on the middle won't make any difference. The master or slave jumper setting will be required for the optical drive since cable select won't work for that. But you can easily set the hard drive as slave or cable select on the middle connector and see the OS installed load from it.

The current arrangement of drives in the build here is a good example of that seeing two optical drives one being sata instead of an ide model with Vista still on an ide HD slaved to the ide optical on the single ide channel. Yet the default boot device is actually one of the two sata HDs in.

Two Linux distros will soon replace the copy of Windows on the ide drive since the pair of sata drives see a working dual boot of XP and Vista on those. The default boot device deciding which hard drive installed becomes the default is set in the bios setup where the list of drives installed are displayed. You simply move one to the top of the list when more then one are installed.
eyeCpc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 10:32 AM
master and slave position? Callofbooty New Systems | Building and Buying 1 11-21-2008 05:39 PM
dual-boot partition setup darkop16 Linux and Open Source 28 12-30-2007 06:40 PM
Troubles with slave HD. Freezing. dentonx Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-12-2007 07:08 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.