Making Gaming Smoother - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-25-2005, 12:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to Serpentine105
Default Making Gaming Smoother

I have a laptop, so I can't buy a new video card and install it. The specs are pretty good, with 512 MB RAM and a 100 GB Hard Drive, and games read my processor as a Pentium IV, even though I believe it is a Centrino (for battery life issues). Is there any way that I can make my computer run faster during game play, even though I can't have another video card installed?
__________________

Serpentine105 is offline  
Old 11-25-2005, 12:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 276
Send a message via AIM to Camden
Default

Can't overclock a notebook, so maybe just run a system cleanup to clear out interference, and maybe look into an external harddrive to free up some ram
__________________

Camden is offline  
Old 11-25-2005, 08:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

buy another 512mb ram stick to go up to 1GB that should help a lot
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-25-2005, 11:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
buy another 512mb ram stick to go up to 1GB that should help a lot
Thats a great start
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 11-25-2005, 12:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Check your specs and see what your max ram is. max it out if you can. also, streamline your opperating system: get rid of background programs and "on startup" programs through your msconfig. keep it defragged.
electronicchild is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 10:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to Serpentine105
Default

I'll look into those memory sticks you'll were talking about, and I've already defragged it, kept the other systems not running. Thanks a lot guys
Serpentine105 is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 11:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Type "Rundll32.exe advapi32.dll,ProcessIdleTasks" in the run command in the start menu. Wait like 5-15 minutes becuase what this command does it frees up any idle tasks in the background so it devotes the cpu's full attention to one task. By ending all those useless processes it takes some time, if you really dont want to wait, hit the famous "ALT-CTRL-DELETE" and go to the preformance tab to check the CPU's usage. Once the usage goes down anywhere from 0-3 or 4 % then it's good to go!
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.