make this pc run faster - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-19-2006, 04:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 51
Default make this pc run faster

eMachines T2893
CPU: Intel® Celeron® D Processor 330 (2.66GHz, 533MHz FSB, 256KB L2 cache)
Operating System: Genuine Microsoft® Windows® XP Home
Chipset: Intel® 845GV chipset
Memory: 512MB DDR (PC2700); expandable to 2GB
Hard Drive: 80GB HDD
Video: GeForce FX 5200 128MB PCI

I just need it to run faster for running multiple, simple applications like: Word, Excel, MSN, IE, Firefox, AIM, etc.

I would say upgrade my RAM, but would this really make it a lot faster? Most of the times I check the available RAM in the task manager, it says over 100000K. I'm pretty sure that putting more RAM in will not load Windows faster (I've tested it).

I have another computer that is running on a celeron 2.0ghz. I have 2 hard drives in it, and have devoted 1 of them to storing only Windows and several applications. It seems like it runs pretty fast, and maybe even loads faster than my newer computer, which has only 1 HD. My newer computer (the one that I want to upgrade) has a 80gb HD, with 20gb free. Would getting a second hard drive, and putting Windows on that, make Windows run faster?

What should I do first to make my computer run faster?

endeavor is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 05:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351

ive a pretty similar spec comp for my mums, except the graphics card. it should run fast enough for simple aplications, maybe formatting you comp and setting it up from scratch,, also try increasing you page file, to about 3 x the ram you have,,

E6300 Core 2 Duo
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 12:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 100

Yeah another stick of 512 would help alot and a reformat might be in order. If you havent reformatted with that emachine before and it still has the windows copy that came with it when you set it up. This means they probably set you up with a lot of ****ty programs that bog your system down, the best thing to do is to reformat.
blewandowski_69 is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 12:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123

I agree on the RAM. Right now, my computer is the exact same specs. Pretty embarassing...

I would turn off the "eye candy" that XP uses, or install Linux. Don't even try Vista on that machine; mine doesn't run it, so that wont. Plus Emachines aren't exactly "high-performance", no offense.

Plus a good reformat will make everything speedy
Make sure to do all the Windows and software updates.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 02:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269

Delete all your porn and add RAM
schulz269 is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 12:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx

yeah ram is the most cost efficient upgrade for a pc...better cpu would help too
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 02:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,955

Actually, you're not in too bad of shape... other than only having PCI slots.

You could upgrade your CPU to a P4 instead of a Celeron. That would help.

Upping your RAM will definitely help you out. Go for a gig total, or better.

What you need most of all is most likely getting your system in order. Here's an edited version of something I've posted before:
MSCONFIG (when used with the RUN command) opens up the System Configuration Utility. Most of the stuff in there you don't want to mess with unless you know what you are doing or have detailed instructions.

Click the STARTUP tab. The list that it pulls up is everything that you can choose to start up when Windows does.

Why is all of this stuff in the list? Because every program designer thinks his 'creation' is so indispensible that no one could possibly want it to NOT start up with their computer (yeah, right), so they set it into the list and have it to do just that.

Once you're at the list, look it over and see what all has a check mark. Every program that does starts up when Windows loads... EVERYTIME!

If something is checked, but you don't know what it is, Google it and find out.

Once you have seen what is there, uncheck everything that you don't need or want. Keep your firewall, antivirus, broadband drivers, graphics drivers, whatever you absolutely have to have, but uncheck everythign else.

Once you are done, click APPLY, OK, then reboot.

When your computer starts up, you'll get a grey box about the System Configuration Utility. Check the box about 'Don't run on startup' then OK.

If you had a lot of stuff checked, then your comp ought to start up faster and run more stable.

Download and run AdAware, Spybot, and Microsoft Windows Defender.
(All are free. Be sure to have each one update itself before you scan.)

Uninstall any unused or unneeded programs you have on your hard drive.

Download and run TweakNow to clean up your computer's registry.

Download and run CCleaner to clean out the odds and ends that are taking up space on your hard drive.

Run Disk Defragmenter START- ALL PROGRAMS- ACCESSORIES- SYSTEM TOOLS- DISK DEFRAGMENTER). Better yet, download and use O&O Defrag instead.
Pro (free trial) -
Free version -

Reboot your computer and see if it cranks up a bit faster, plus it ought to have a lot more zip to it as well.
Try going through that and see if it doesn't seem like a brand new computer.

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-22-2006, 08:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 66

I've only got a 1.20GHz Intel Celeron processor and 256MB SD-RAM and things are running pretty fast here.

Try reformatting the hard drive and upgrading the RAM to at least a gigabyte. Or else, it may be your hard drive that's running too slow.
Sometimes, it feels as though my life is just a never-ending circle of pain and misery. Not to mention sadness, worthlessness, and humiliation. But I can only cry inside. Deep behind my happy smile and bright personality is a sad and lonely person, a mere figment of my former self. Someday, all this pain will be over. I will drop down and die. At other times I ask myself, \"If only this would happen right now\".
Condraz23 is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 03:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 51

According to intel's website, my Celeron D 330 has a "Mfg Tech" of 90nm, and a 478 pin package type. I know if I wanted to upgrade to a Pentium 4, I would have to get a 478pin one, but would I also have to get a 90nm one? or could I get a 65nm one?
endeavor is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 10:28 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647

you can get teh 65 if you want. all it has to do with is the size of the processor's die. so it'll still fit fine. i forgot which is better but i'm almost positive that smaller die are better (you should research it yourself if you're looking into going that route)

Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.