Low-End Brand-Name? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2005, 07:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default Low-End Brand-Name?

I'll start out by saying that the following is not for me, its for my friend. Now just see, someone will think its for me, lol.

Ok, my friend wants to buy a new PC but his mom won't let him build it. Heck, she won't let ANYONE build it because she doesn't trust custom PCs. So he's stuck with brand-name PCs. He's limited to a $500 budget, hopefully including shipping.

He asked me what he should go with. I can come up with some decent ones but since he won't be upgrading what would be good for him?

Lastly, it would be best for his mom if he could just go and buy it at the store.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 07:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 160
Default

Best Buy always have E-Machines w/ AMD 64s in them for cheap, around that price. Check this weekend's Best Buy add.
__________________

__________________
Gateway 506GR
CPU: Intel P4 Prescott 550 HT 3.4Ghz
MOBO: Intel D915GAG
RAM:1Gb (2x512) Samsung DDR400 PC3200 3,3,3,8
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM SATA 200GB
VGA: Diamond Stealth Radeon 9200SE
PSU: Thermaltake TR2 430W
Dan DeVille is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 08:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

I took your advice and checked out the best buy website, this is what i found;

Sempron system.

Its what he was looking for but I want to keep looking because I want to find him a 64-bit processor.
Flanker is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 08:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Checked out HP's website;

ATHLON 64 3200+!

Thats the best I've found yet. He'll need to upgrade some stuff though. Does HP do the same BS with windows that Dell does? Like, can it be installed on other HDDs?
Flanker is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 08:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Compa...oductDetail.do

closet i got for a 64 bit system...its 530 dolalr sthough
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 08:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Quote:
Does HP do the same BS with windows that Dell does? Like, can it be installed on other HDDs?
Yes, HP uses the recovery partition. So, no, it can't be install on a different HDD.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 09:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Here's a few links for you and your friend to check...

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...sku=E400-T6212
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...576697&CatId=0
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...576824&CatId=0
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...568132&CatId=0
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...576695&CatId=0
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...361636&CatId=0

Yeah, they're Tiger Direct, but none of them involve rebates.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 09:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

One word Trotter; WOW.

EXCELLENT rescearch and I thank you with all my heart He's probably going to end up buying one of the ones you recommended.

Just one thing; On the very top one that you recommended, the specs say is a Socket 754 3200+ @ 2.0Ghz, but the reviews say that its a Socket 939...Beggars can't be choosers, but I'd still like to figure that out.
Flanker is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 10:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Trotter some HP machines still come with recovery disc dont they? Meh its all the same....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 11:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

I'd lay money on the 754... it is a pre-built, ya know.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.