Looking on upgrading RAM...or maybe something else - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2012, 02:17 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 18
Default Re: Looking on upgrading RAM...or maybe something else

Was looking around and found something that prompted another question...
Looking for benchmark tests, games supported crossfire and such. Stumbled upon a forum saying that someone with a AMD 975 3.4 CPU that was going to crossfire 2 6850's that that CPU wasn't good enough. And that once he upgraded to a Phenom II 965 that he noticed the increase.

This is probably a really stupid question but I just want to make sure :\

Is the AMD 975 3.4 an older processor and not the Phenom Quad Core? Otherwise I'm confused lol.

So just double checking but my processor (or anything else on my PC) wouldn't hold back crossfire 2 6870's?
Thanks!

Also hes the link to the forum post...
Looking for a list or link of games that support crossfire - PC-Gaming - General
__________________

kryne is offline  
Old 02-01-2012, 11:57 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Looking on upgrading RAM...or maybe something else

No, the 975 is a Phenom II, I think he listed the wrong CPU since it's stock frequency is 3.6GHz.

I want to say the 955 at stock will bottleneck crossfire 6870s, but its not as bad as it sounds.
There will almost always be a bottleneck in your system, either CPU running faster than GPU or vice-versa, its rare to get them perfectly matched.
That being said you're looking at maybe a ~10FPS loss, but considering the massive increase from a single card I doubt you'd notice the loss.
__________________

__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 02-02-2012, 12:11 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Looking on upgrading RAM...or maybe something else

Personally around that price-point I would go with:
Newegg.com - HIS IceQ H687Q1G2M Radeon HD 6870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card

Having two cards running means twice the heat, better to have them both pushing their exhaust out the back of the case than having one of them just dumping it in the case.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 02-02-2012, 12:44 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 18
Default Re: Looking on upgrading RAM...or maybe something else

How does that one differ from the others? By the name assuming it has better cooling? But I don't see anything in details that say its a lot better? I don't see how this one would allow for one not dumping into the case and the others would be dumping

And the 2nd Sapphire has a "Physics processing support" which i don't think mine does currently.
kryne is offline  
Old 02-02-2012, 02:23 AM   #16 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Looking on upgrading RAM...or maybe something else

Its not in the literature, its just a matter of figuring out where the fan is blowing.
The three you picked the fan is in the center if the card and pull air onto the heasink (usually, it may push), then goes off in every direction.
The card I linked (and the one you currently have) the fan is at the far end and pushes air across the heatsink and out the back.
Granted, your current card is fully enclosed and better at this, but the same concept applies and the air heads in the same direction.

As to the "Physics processing support", I google'd around and couldn't find a solid answer.
My gut tells me its just a gimmick, like the RAM sets that say "Intel i3/i5/i7 ready" even though any old RAM will work.

But its just my suggestion, if you're sold on the Sapphire FleX then get it, there is no major downside.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 02-02-2012, 01:13 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 18
Default Re: Looking on upgrading RAM...or maybe something else

Ok, once again thanks for the input I will keep all that in mind!
Thank!
__________________

kryne is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading RAM xjobobobx System Upgrades 14 03-18-2008 08:45 PM
Upgrading Ram OOC-SP System Upgrades 8 08-14-2007 06:34 PM
Upgrading RAM TheCase System Upgrades 17 04-03-2007 02:01 PM
upgrading RAM cloud System Upgrades 4 06-03-2006 06:18 PM
Upgrading My RAM + Increasing amouunt of RAM available to the graphics thundertiger Microsoft Windows and Software 13 01-23-2006 02:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.