Looking to upgrade - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2014, 12:45 PM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Looking to upgrade

I had linked you a build previously that had everything besides Windows, HDD, and a case. If you found them cheaper on Amazon it should be within your 600-700 budget.

Here is another GPU:
SAPPHIRE DUAL-X 100373-2L Radeon R9 280 3GB 384-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 CrossFireX Support Video Card - Newegg.ca
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 06:32 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Ausaris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 62
Default Re: Looking to upgrade

Alright, good news! My parents are buying my brother a new computer for Christmas, so I will be using my HP case and HDD for the new build, which saves me a good amount of money.

Right now i've got a cart on Newegg (all those sales on Amazon that made half the items cheaper were apparently a one-day-only thing), containing the items you linked for the build with the Intel processor, and with the GPU you linked in your last post. With a copy of Window 7 added on it totals $645.94 ($759.24 with shipping and taxes included), so it's pretty well right on budget to!

I was hoping to work out the cost to $700 with shipping and taxes included, but I have a paintball gun an old friend will buy from me at a moments notice that will cover the extra plus some. Considering that, I considered looking into a cooling unit as well, but I can save that for later if I end up wanting / needing it.

The last thing I can think to ask right now, is if there would be a way for me to swap in the new Mobo without having to format my HDD. I don't know if such a thing would be possible, but it would save me from having to buy a copy of Windows 7, as my PC already has it installed, and if a method exists you probably know about it. It would also bring the benefit of not having to reinstall all of my games and software, and I wouldn't have to worry about losing any of my files.

I'm excited to see this actually come together.
__________________

Ausaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 06:41 PM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Looking to upgrade

Hardware swap on Windows depends on the version, and then when you're talking pre-built copies the chances are even more slim.

Since you're doing a whole PC swap and changing vendors on your graphics it would be best to do a fresh copy regardless. You'll need that copy of Windows in case you crash later and need to reinstall.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 06:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Ausaris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 62
Default Re: Looking to upgrade

Yeah I figured that would be the case, no way this would end up being THAT easy.

A guy in my AutoCAD course told me I could plug everything together and just straight up try to get it to boot, but I assume that would most likely end with catastrophe. That definitely sounds wayyyy to easy to be true.

I appreciate you answering all these newbie questions i've been asking man, you're like a fountain of knowledge.
Ausaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 06:54 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Looking to upgrade

Actually he's right. You can put it all together and try to boot. It'll either boot into Windows fine (and then install the appropriate drivers that it has), or it'll blue screen. If it does that, you need a copy of Windows.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 07:52 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Ausaris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 62
Default Re: Looking to upgrade

If I were to install the Windows 7 SP1 ISO from the link on this site (Repair Install - Windows 7 Help Forums) onto a disk and use it as a repair install disk, do you think it would work without me having to format my HDD? It says on the site that it works more often than not, but with me changing so much do you think it would still work?

If there is a chance this would work, i'm going to go for it; as I have a good number of important files on my hard drive that I am afraid of losing - that, and saving $100 would be wonderful.
Ausaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 07:56 PM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Looking to upgrade

You can try. Another thing you can do is get yourself a flash drive and put your important smaller files on that. I would do this before doing anything and 64GB drives are rather cheap these days.

An alternative is, Windows 7 gives you a 30 day period before you need to activate. If forced, you can use this and it gives you a month to save up that 100.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 08:15 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Ausaris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 62
Default Re: Looking to upgrade

I actually have a large number of 8GB flash drives I bought for school, so I will make copies of all my logins and important files on those before I do anything. I should look into getting a small external drive to have around anyway, so I may be able to backup some larger files as well if I end up getting one.

Would that 30 day "trial" come from that ISO I mentioned in the last post? Or would I download that from somewhere else and install it on a separate disk? If I decide not to order the copy of Windows 7, I could use that so I could get everything operational while I wait for a copy of Windows, in the case I end up having to format anyway. Also, if someone I know has a copy of Windows 7, would I be able to use their copy to do a clean install, or can they only be used on a single computer?
Ausaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 08:19 PM   #19 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Looking to upgrade

1. It's a good idea. I have had a small 2.5" external drive for years now holding important things.
2. Yes it would. Don't need to give quotes, it literally is an evaluation period lol.
3. Yup, that's what I was saying you could do in the last post.
4. Yes you could, or just download an ISO from the site and toss it on one of those flash drives you spoke of to use as a USB install drive.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 08:35 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Ausaris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 62
Default Re: Looking to upgrade

Awesome, i'll set up a USB with the ISO to use if I have to do a clean install. Would that method eliminate the need to purchase a copy of Windows 7, or would I still need a product key to use it as a full install of the OS? If so, would I be able to use the key that I would have used when I first booted up my PC? (the one on a sticker on the side of my tower)
__________________

Ausaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for a good big good looking (espacioso) if you know what means case Phanto New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-04-2005 11:52 PM
looking to upgrade my xp processer Dark_Sniper* Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 20 04-01-2005 08:06 PM
Looking to upgrade speakers ohGrFreak Computer Audio and Multimedia 3 11-06-2004 02:16 PM
I'm looking to upgrade my video card from a ATI Radeon 9200. Any suggestions?!? xxjuju4lifexx PC Gaming 3 07-10-2004 06:38 PM
Looking to upgrade GFX card. 300 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 15 06-18-2004 11:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.