Looking to upgrade

Ausaris

Baseband Member
Hello all, i've got an HP (model # p6732f) that I bought about 4 or 5 years ago, and I would like it to have a bit more juice to it. I upgraded the graphics card about 2 years ago, but other than that everything is stock. I'm new to quite a bit of this, so I welcome any and all advice.

What it has now is :

Operating system - Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Processor - AMD Athlon II x3 445 (3 CPU) 3.1GHz
Memory - 4GB RAM
GPU - NVIDIA GeForce GT 430 (Integrated RAMDAC, 2765 MB memory) - I picked this up at staples.

What i'm hoping to get out of this, is specs that would allow me to run the games I play (Mainly ArcheAge and Mechwarrior Online) on high settings - or maximum if possible - and still have a good framerate.

I plan to stick another 4GB of RAM into it, but as for upgrading the processor and the GPU I only have a very vague idea as to what direction I should head in.

I would like to keep the cost to around $500 max, and if anyone here could give me some advice on what would give me the best performance within that budget range, or even just what would actually WORK with my PC, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks for your time!

Ausaris

Best CPU I believe you could put in there is the 125w version of the Phenom II 955BE which would require a cooling upgrade as well.

Not sure about the pricing of the CPU (you'd have to hit up Ebay or used Amazon I bet). If you could get a cheap one then a GTX 970 shouldn't be without reason. You'll need a new PSU as well.

Sorry for the slow response, I opened this thread just before going to bed.

Alright, I've been trying to find a Phenom II 955BE on Amazon and sites like Newegg, but I haven't found them on a site that doesn't have it listed as "out of stock". I'm going to continue looking when I get home in a few hours, but just in case I can't find it, is there another CPU I could use in place of it with similar specs?