looking for SKT 939 CPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2008, 03:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default looking for SKT 939 CPU

Im looking for a socket 939 cpu to upgrade from this x2 3800+

I cant seem to find one online, and the ones i find are either bundled with a motherboard, or FAR to expensive.

(if you want to trade or sell directly to me, send a private message, otherwise if you know any good websites, or online resources for used/refurbished equipment, please post with any info=)

thanks
__________________

RichM499 is offline  
Old 11-03-2008, 09:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: looking for SKT 939 CPU

Pricewatch sometimes has listings for the hard to find stuff.
__________________

KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 11-03-2008, 01:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Putting the X in Sapper
 
SapperX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boulder
Posts: 721
Default Re: looking for SKT 939 CPU

That socket is aging quickly and to be honest, it doesn't support any cpu that is too much better than your current one. I would stick with what you have, or get an entirely new system.
__________________
My Current PC-
Intel Q6600 G0 |Western Digital 250gb HD
Seagate 500gb HD | Western Digital 500gb HD | VisionTek HD4870 | 4gb Cruical Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800
850w Thermaltake PSU | Cooler Master Centurian 590 | 2x Dell 22" LCD

-900HA EEE pc
SapperX is offline  
Old 11-03-2008, 04:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: looking for SKT 939 CPU

yeah well, unfortunately .. this system seems to do everything i need it to, at good framerate

sure its not the best (but its clocked at your 6000+ and i would suspect its CLOSE to its performance in games)

athlon x2 3800+ 2ghz @ 2.9ghz
HIS Radeon HD 3850 IceQ
Corsair XMS ddr2 400 @ 450



so, i run crysis just fine at 1280x1024 with high-very high settings...

and most of my other games run fine (i used crysis as an example cause its the most taxing game i have)

mostly im a CoD4, CSS, TF2, kinda guy, we run a gaming community for CSS


anyway i thought maybe the FX-60 would be better

or an opteron 185,

i would be happy with an x2 4800+...
RichM499 is offline  
Old 11-03-2008, 04:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: looking for SKT 939 CPU

No, nothing you can get is better for 939.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 11-03-2008, 05:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: looking for SKT 939 CPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichM499 View Post

i would be happy with an x2 4800+...


Did you bother looking at Pricewatch or were the prices too high?



PRICEWATCH :: Price Comparison tool - SOCKET 939 lowest prices :: socket 939 cpu prices sorted by the best price
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 11-03-2008, 08:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: looking for SKT 939 CPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichM499 View Post
athlon x2 3800+ 2ghz @ 2.9ghz
HIS Radeon HD 3850 IceQ
Corsair XMS ddr2 400 @ 450

i would be happy with an x2 4800+...
Your pc outperforms the X2 4800+ @ Stock. While the X2 4800+ will probably only OC to about 3.2ghz and 3.3ghz Max. So you'd be dishing out all that money for an older S939 X2 that will give you no more then a .3ghz increase.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 11-03-2008, 08:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Putting the X in Sapper
 
SapperX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boulder
Posts: 721
Default Re: looking for SKT 939 CPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichM499 View Post
yeah well, unfortunately .. this system seems to do everything i need it to, at good framerate

sure its not the best (but its clocked at your 6000+ and i would suspect its CLOSE to its performance in games)
I'm confused, so why would you want to upgrade? Like you already and I already said, the upgrades you can get aren't worth the money, and they aren't really upgrades. Stick with what you got until you are ready to get a current socket.
__________________
My Current PC-
Intel Q6600 G0 |Western Digital 250gb HD
Seagate 500gb HD | Western Digital 500gb HD | VisionTek HD4870 | 4gb Cruical Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800
850w Thermaltake PSU | Cooler Master Centurian 590 | 2x Dell 22" LCD

-900HA EEE pc
SapperX is offline  
Old 11-03-2008, 08:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: looking for SKT 939 CPU

Rich instead of getting a S939 CPU. Why don't you just get an AM2+ board with a cheap/decent X2. Or a budget Intel Motherboard with a E2180/E5200. Since you already have G.Skill DDR2 ram sitting in the closet anyways.

If you go X2 you will be able to just swap your X2 out with Deneb when it comes out and if your interested in that sort of upgrading method.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 11-03-2008, 11:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: looking for SKT 939 CPU

yeah i guess so=P, i was wanting to save money and trying to find a 50-60 dollar boost to last me a while longer, i guess i'll save up for a few months and go all-out on a top of the line system instead
__________________

RichM499 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer without CPU fan? lazycat Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-28-2008 12:01 AM
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 11:52 PM
Upgraded, 939 parts F/S. Mobo, Ram, CPU, GFX TipsySmile Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 5 12-13-2007 03:17 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.