Looking for a new Motherboard!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2005, 05:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 49
Arrow Looking for a new Motherboard!!

Hello! I need all of you help!
I am looking for a new motherboard and I am having an extremely hard time landing on a solid choice.
What I am going to need is a motherboard and a processor for under $200. I don't mind if it is AMD or Intel and I don't mind if it's a Sempron or a Celeron.

Here are a couple of idea's I have, it would also be good if the motherboard has overclockability options beyond adjusting the front side bus.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...7690&CatId=188 [Socket A, which is the same as I have now, and is showing it's age...]

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...M-SK8T800-2800 [Seems nice, but it doesn't have any temperature monitering or many overclockability options!]

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...Tab=0&NoMapp=0 [Seems Alright, but I head there is still very little overclockability, this one also seems like it will take longer to ship because it's not in stock = p.]


Does anybody else have any reccomendations? I'm just having a really hard time.
__________________

Eleaf is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 05:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

AMD Sempron 64 3400+ socket 754(256KB L2 cache) - $125
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819104231

Gigabyte K8U socket 754 - $48
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128292

total = $173
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 05:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 49
Default

Ah, now that looks nice! Do you reccomend I get something at newegg rather than tigerdirect? That seems like a nice deal...

But I have another question, I have a bunch of ram BUT it is the old 133 sdram. I don't think it will fit these newer motherboards will it? I may have to get some cheap 256 or 512 meg ddr ram too...
Eleaf is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 06:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

so you're planning on using older parts on a newer system?

no, SDRAM won't work in this motherbord. it's been phased out, and only lasted until about the 1.5GHZ/1500+ CPU era

the current standard is DDR, which is going to be replaced by DDR2 within 1-2 years.
Intel's socket 775 uses DDR2, everything else so far uses DDR1. AMD's next socket, called M2, will use DDR2 and should be coming out in Q1 2006

also, if you have an older video card, you might not be able to use it in this motherboard. it will need to be at least an AGP 4X card to work.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 06:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

PQI 512MB PC3200 DDR - $33.14
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141164
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 06:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 49
Default

Yes, ok I understand, I won't be able to use my old ram. I also just got a new agp 8x video card, which is another reason why I am going to upgrade my motherboard because it can't handle past 2x. I can use my hard drive, cd drive, psu etc. from my computer right now.

Maybe I'll get a Sempron 64 3000+ or 2800 and use the extra money saved to get some ddr ram. Another question, the motherboard you reccomended says it accepts ddr400 ram, will it not except anything below that like ddr333 or 266. I know it won't except sdram.

Also, do you know if this motherboard has overclockable options? I haven't been able to find anywhere that talks about that.

Thank you! =-)
Eleaf is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 06:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 49
Default

Ah, Thank you for showing me that ram, I suppose I should just go with that then.
Eleaf is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 06:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 49
Default

Alright, this is what I have so far.

GIGABYTE GA-K8U Socket 754 ULi M1689 ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail $48.00

pqi POWER Series 512MB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered System Memory Model $33.14

AMD Sempron 64 2800+ Palermo 800MHz FSB Socket 754 Processor Model SDA2800BXBOX - Retail $75.50

Total $156.64
(Plus about $7 shipping)

I'm surprised, I think that's a pretty good deal. Do you have any other reccomendations?
Eleaf is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 06:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

looks good go apookalise1
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 06:41 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
looks good go apookalise1
is my name spelled like that? hehe

anyway, what PSU do you have at the moment?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.