Looking for a hard drive upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2006, 11:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 97
Default Looking for a hard drive upgrade

Couple Qs for you pros out there.

1. Any reason not to get an external HD to add on top of what I've got now?

2. Are all externals the same? No SATA/ATA/SATAII stuff? USB 2.0 good enough or is firewire preferred?

3. I'm looking for a large drive, something atleast 300gb; can you all recommend me some? I have xp home if that matters at all.

Thanks!
__________________

ShortThrow is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 05:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

External disks are useful for back ups. External disks are regular disks. For a SATA disk you need an enclosure that supports SATA disks. For ATA disks you need an enclosure that supports ATA disks.

Firewire will give you the best performance, but USB 2.0 is fine, too.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 05:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

the only reason I use my external HD is to transfer work from home to school. so portability is why you want an external drive. It it's going to stay stationary, go with an internal one.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 02:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 97
Default

Another question,

Are Ultra ATA133 and Ultra ATA100 interchangable? What's the difference between the two?
ShortThrow is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 03:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to Michowski1 Send a message via AIM to Michowski1 Send a message via Yahoo to Michowski1
Default

ata 133 is faster then ata100. The 100's are way outdated now. 133 is still around and working great with speed and stability. Pick up an sata 3.0 hardrive or a nice ata 133 internal if its going to be stationary. Either one of those will be nice.
__________________
AMD Athlon 3400 socket 754, Radeon X1600 pro 512mb, Crucial Ballistix\'s 1gig DDR 500, MSI K8N Neo Platinum, Maxtor 60gig C: and 200gig D:
Michowski1 is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 04:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ShortThrow
Another question,

Are Ultra ATA133 and Ultra ATA100 interchangable? What's the difference between the two?
Yes. You can connect an ATA100 hard disk to an IDE ATA133 controller, but it will work in ATA100 mode.
Or you can connect an ATA133 device to an IDE ATA100 controller but it will also work in ATA100 mode.

I don't know if an ATA133 device will be able to use 133MB/s if theres another ATA100 device connected to the same IDE controller/channel.

I am also wondering if the entire IDE controller bandwidth will be throttled down to 100MB/s when using ATA100 device(s). (I doubt it will).

If it would, an ATA133 IDE controller with 4 ATA100 disks would be faster than an ATA100 controller with 4 ATA100 disks. Say, all disks are transferring 33,25MB/s. 33,25 x 4 = 133MB/s (using all bandwidth). The disks on the ATA100 controller would be throttled down to 100MB/s MAX, so each drive could only use 25MB/s of available bandwidth.

The performance difference between ATA100 and ATA133 is small. Burst speeds will be higher, but average read/write speeds will only be slightly higher. Kinda like ATA133 vs SATA150.

As long as the disks are the same (besides the interface) there will not be a huge difference.
Seagate still uses ATA100 for many modern hard disks, even the high capacity disks (300, 400, 750 GB).

You will only use the entire IDE controller bandwidth when transferring from/to multiple disks at the same time, so when working with many disks, transferring a lot of data simultaniously, you should go with the best interface.

I wonder if copying files from disk A to disk B @ 40MB/s means it is using 80MB/s of bandwidth ("upload/download")
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 04:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 97
Default

Problem solved. Thanks guy. Mod can delete.
__________________

ShortThrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.