Looking for a good socket 939 mobo with agp 8x. - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-04-2006, 01:32 AM   #21 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Ok. I will kepp pzero's mobo in mind, but out of all these socket 939 mobos with agp. Which one do you think is the best overclocker for an opteron that i want to get:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...TTR22=&ATTR23=
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 03:46 AM   #22 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I don't particually like any of those. I'm a big fan of the Nvidia chipsets now, as they are on a different league to the VIA.

I would stay away from those ASUS ones.

What did catch my eye was that Abit, as tbh. Abit makes great overclocking boards until you hit 250 bus speed where its PCI lockcomes undone, I don't know if it is the same for that one.But I have never heard of ULI for a chipset company.

It wasn't on the list, but how about this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157085

It is only cash behind the sofa money more.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 11:12 AM   #23 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Yeah but see I need it to have an agp slot for my 6600 that i just bought. If ti was in pci express it would be way easier to find a good mobo.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 11:29 AM   #24 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

I saw this board: ASRock 939Dual-SATA2.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157081

I have heard good things about it on these forums. I like everything about ti except for the fact that many people said it had problems with the agp slot. The main reason i want to buy this board is because it has agp for me now and pci-E for me later. I don't want to buy ti if my 6600 agp wont run as well. What do you guys think?
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 12:37 PM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Here are your options ...

Only 15, all of which aren't made by the most reputable brands. Asus or ASRock look like your best choices.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 12:48 PM   #26 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Yeah but see I need it to have an agp slot for my 6600 that i just bought. If ti was in pci express it would be way easier to find a good mobo.
Missed that, my bad.

I am trying to avoid the ULI chipset, as I don't know if it is any good. Try and get a motherboard with the Nforce 3 chipset. I think a different website would be a good bet to try and get what you are looking for.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 12:52 PM   #27 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Yeah i have tried loking at other websites but they are kind of expensive. It is hard to find a good mobo for what i am looking for. I need two main features. AGP 8x and a godo overclocker. I need it to overclokc good bcuz i am getting an opteron.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 05:18 PM   #28 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

I just come to realize that realy there sint much difference in the 15 boards that i have to choose from besides the brands. It si either ULI or nf3. They are all the same the difference is just the brand. Since none of them are that great I minus well just get a mobo wiht an nf3 like i originally wanted. This ECS one should do me fine and ti si cheap too.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813135216

I wanted the abit but i dont want to pay that much since most of the mobos are similar.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 05:29 PM   #29 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

wtf look at this. At outpost.com the abit ul8 board is only 40 bux.
http://shop3.outpost.com/product/460...H:MAIN_RSLT_PG

look at newegg it is almost 70.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813127223

I wonder if it is a mistake. I want to order ti if ti is only 40 bux. What do you guys think? Do you think it is a mistake or what?
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 12:45 AM   #30 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

that is a way better deal. Do you guys think i should buy it.What if they made a mistake though. Do you think i can trust it? I just need 1 respiose to tell em to buy ti and i will. So somebody please respond lol. Then i will never have to ask about getting a new mobo for a whle.
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.