a little upgrade help - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2009, 07:22 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: a little upgrade help

It will work but there were problems with that line at load.

The +12v rail had ripples at high load causing instability. So make sure you're not pushing too much power out of it.
__________________

__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 06-20-2009, 07:33 PM   #22 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: a little upgrade help

600W powering a 300W card shouldn't be a problem.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-20-2009, 08:23 PM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: a little upgrade help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
600W powering a 300W card shouldn't be a problem.
True, I just wanted him to make sure he knew that there were known problems with that product
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 06-21-2009, 06:59 AM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinscher View Post
It will work but there were problems with that line at load.

The +12v rail had ripples at high load causing instability. So make sure you're not pushing too much power out of it.
Ah better not risk it then and just buy a new one and a 650W one then?
Also heres a question : What does crossfire mean?
Because i wanted to purchase this one right now ...

Newegg.ca - ASUS EAH4890/HTDI/1GD5 Radeon HD 4890 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

But i dont know what Voltage Tweak means.

Because i dont wanna get this only to see the 5000 series come out tomorrow. is it?!?! lol
Fulcrum is offline  
Old 06-21-2009, 01:34 PM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: a little upgrade help

No the 5000 series isn't coming out for a little while. No use in waiting.

Crossfire is ATI's version of SLI. It means that you can put two of the same cards in your computer and link them together to improve performance

Voltage tweaking is for overclocking your video card. Higher voltages can allow you to get a higher stable overclock. Too much voltage though and you can burn out your card and increasing your voltage also increases the heat output of the cards. I take it you won't be overclocking though so don't worry about it.

You should get this one instead of the Asus though. It is cheaper and will work just as well. XFX also has better customer support and a great warranty.

Newegg.ca - XFX HD-489A-ZDFC Radeon HD 4890 1GB 256-bit DDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 06-22-2009, 12:42 AM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: a little upgrade help

It isnt GDDR5, im guessing thats not an issue ?
Fulcrum is offline  
Old 06-22-2009, 04:15 AM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: a little upgrade help

That was probably a typing error because there is no such thing as DDR5. Graphics cards only use GDDR memory which is different from DDR memory. Plus, all 4890 cards are made pretty much the same, with some slight differences from the manufacturer.
__________________

__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
trying to upgrade old system zeldaboy101 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-09-2008 01:39 AM
The many versions of XP EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 6 10-26-2008 02:54 PM
Forseeable price drops? My possible upgrade plan. Trepkos New Systems | Building and Buying 3 12-04-2007 02:21 AM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.