little help here - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-10-2006, 09:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 259
Default little help here

does anyone know of a socket 478 motherboard for a Pentium 4 2.2ghz processor that has a pci-e x16 slot?

any help here would be greatly appreciated.

thanks

__________________

n30phYte is offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 10:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Heres two I found on newegg:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130046

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130539

I'm not sure if it's for a P4 but they do have one pci-e x16 slot. If it were me I would just upgrade to a newer socket.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 11:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

theres no point in having a PCI-E slot with such a old CPU.

you already have a 7600GS?

your CPU is already bottlenecking your 7600GS... using a even faster GPU with such a slow CPU wont change much.
---------------------------------------

besides replacing your entire system... id say your only other option is upgrading the CPU instead.

though, since your using a 2.2ghz(witch probably realy old) chances are im guessing your uisng a APG 4x motherboard, witch may or maynot have Pentium4 "Prescott" support. ->go to your mothebroard manufactuers website and check there CPU support list.

here is a 2.8 Northwood P4 though, witch may be compatable for example:
http://www.ewiz.com/detail.php?name=P2.8-533
http://www.ewiz.com/detail.php?name=FAN-A4012
http://www.ewiz.com/query.php?categry=647

theres also a 3.0P4 presscott there for similar price, but like i said it may not be compatable with your board....

...if your board is only AGP 4x with 533 Max FSB support... you may wont to just make due with what you got now, untill you can upgrade your entire system... beacuse if thats the case... your motherboad will still hold you back even if you upgrade your CPU or even GFX Card.
jolancer is offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 11:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to freedonutss
Default

Upgrade to a new socket. Recently I purchased an Intel 2.66 Dual Core Processor for about $90. Its a good price. I also purchased a Asrock 775DUALVSTA Motherboard. It doesnt support pci express x16 but many LGA 775 Socket motherboards support PCI Express x16. If you have the money, I recommend you to upgrade Mobo + Processor. Just my 2 cents.
__________________
Aspire X-Navigator Series
Intel 3.66 Ghz Dual Core
2x 1GB Kingston 4-4-4-12 Ram
ECS P4M890T-M2 LGA 775 M/B
Nvidia Geforce 7900GTO 512 MB PCI x16
Rosewill 700W PSU
Seagate Barracuda 250GB 16MB 3.0gb/s
freedonutss is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 12:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by freedonutss
Upgrade to a new socket. Recently I purchased an Intel 2.66 Dual Core Processor for about $90. Its a good price. I also purchased a Asrock 775DUALVSTA Motherboard. It doesnt support pci express x16 but many LGA 775 Socket motherboards support PCI Express x16. If you have the money, I recommend you to upgrade Mobo + Processor. Just my 2 cents.
IF he changes his motherboard he will need to Upgrade everything except his HDD. (and possibly his Ram).

cause a new board would reqire: new CPU | GFX Card | 24pin PSU | and DDR2 ram if its skt775)
jolancer is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 07:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to freedonutss
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jolancer
IF he changes his motherboard he will need to Upgrade everything except his HDD. (and possibly his Ram).

cause a new board would reqire: new CPU | GFX Card | 24pin PSU | and DDR2 ram if its skt775)
Not true. Yes, He would need a new cpu as I stated above. Hes looking for a motherboard WITH a pci x16 slot. So why would he have to upgrade the video card? No, Not all motherboards take 24 pin. Alot of motherboards support dual channel memory so you can use both DDR2 and DDR. Reason why I say this is because I used to have a motherboard that was socket LGA775 and used 20 pins, also the DDR standard was pc3200 but I was still able to use pc2700 for memory.
__________________
Aspire X-Navigator Series
Intel 3.66 Ghz Dual Core
2x 1GB Kingston 4-4-4-12 Ram
ECS P4M890T-M2 LGA 775 M/B
Nvidia Geforce 7900GTO 512 MB PCI x16
Rosewill 700W PSU
Seagate Barracuda 250GB 16MB 3.0gb/s
freedonutss is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 07:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

I beleive there be an asrock motherboard that supports DDR, DDR2, AGP and PCI-E ooo arghhh!.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 08:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 259
Default

thanks guys for the speedy replies. sorry i was a litle shady on my current specs.

the things i have listed in my sig aren't put together yet. i'm building a system from some parts i already have. my mobo is teh suck and i'm looking to get another one that supports my P4 2.2 and my vid card.

the thing is i'm not looking to play any hadcore graphically intense games. i got an awesome deal on that 7600 at newegg a while back and couldn't pass it up. i know it's more than my cpu really wants but with the stuff i play, it's more than adequate.

i'm at work right now so it's hard for me to check this alot but i'll look at your suggestions and reply in a bit.
n30phYte is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 09:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 259
Default

i have decided to just go for an AGP card and mobo for the time being. will someone tell me if this setup will work in a dell 2400 case (teh suck, i know but..)

i know the mobo is cheap but i just ned a quick fix to hold me over until dx10, vista and all that jazz.

motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813185078

video card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150190

if not could someone help me a find a better motherboard? the GPU will be sufficient for what i am doing.

thanks for the help.
n30phYte is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 05:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

n30phYte - if your going to use a AGP card, why are you looking for a different motherboard? does your current board not have a AGP slot?

for your info though... that board you linked to says in the name "microATX" and you can see from the picture, it only has ~3 expantion slots... so it will fit into any sized Case (microATX motherboard are the smallest boards).

----------------------------------------------
freedonutss - i know you mean well... but your informations is wrong. sorry.

if hes currently using AGP and he wonted a PCIE board, he would need a PCIE card.

you can run a old 20pin PSU with any 24pin ATX motherboard... however, if the graphics card doesnt use an Auxilary power cable stratit from the PSU, the board would be Underpowered and problems woudl arrise (other power probs could arrise even without a a high powered GFX Card).

the ram types are Physically different and cannot be mixed.
DDR1 = pc3200 (DDR400) and Bellow
DDR2 = pc4200 (DDR533) and Above
------------------------------------------------------

iv also seen the typs of motherboards 'baronvongogo' mentioned.... and you do not wont one of those... squeezing excess features such as those onto one motherboard, will resault in a loss of compatability or speed or stability. (its a trade off, just like anything else)... the best option is for you to buy a motherboard from a single generation for best performance/compatbility (not a frankenstien mix).
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.