like know how to reformat my harddrive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2006, 09:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
Default like know how to reformat my harddrive

need to reformat my hard drive never done this before
__________________

sunnyd38 is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 09:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

1. Get to your BIOS (normally F2/DEL on startup).
2. Play around with the advanced settings until you find boot order, and make the CD drive the first boot device.
3. Put in your Windows CD and follow the steps.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 09:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

if it is a prebuilt, you should have some recovery cds or dvds that came with it or a recovery partion(under my computer). If you have the recovery cds/dvds, just insert the first cd/dvd, reboot, and when the dialog comes up asking if you want to reformat....select reformat . If you have a recovery partion...you'll have to either select it real fast when the option comes up on boot(i had to do it on my cousins compaq just the other day....wow it took me 5 tries ) or i think some will let you select it under the partion's properties (just look around the partion...there's usually an option for it).

If it was built by you, then do what macdude said .

Edit: oh, and don't forget a reformat wipes the boot drive, so back up any data you still want on the drive.
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.