leave laptop on all the time - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2006, 09:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 86
Default leave laptop on all the time

i have a laptop and i was wondering if i could just leave it on all the time without shutting it down. so when i am done using it i could jut put it to "SLEEP". would thid cause any damage to the laptop. is it safe to not turn it off? i have a compaq evo n610c.
__________________

__________________
COMPAQ EVO N610C
1.80GHZ
1GIG OF RAM
60GIG HD
30GIG PORTABLE HD
DVD
WIRELESS
14.1 INCH LCD
AIT RADEON MOBILITY 7500 32MB
Alfredw1 is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 09:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

I think it's ok to leave it on, but once in a while restart it to clear up some memory.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 09:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 86
Default

whats one in a while? days? how long what that be?
__________________
COMPAQ EVO N610C
1.80GHZ
1GIG OF RAM
60GIG HD
30GIG PORTABLE HD
DVD
WIRELESS
14.1 INCH LCD
AIT RADEON MOBILITY 7500 32MB
Alfredw1 is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 09:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

It could be once every few days maybe 3-5 days, or once a week....thats what I do.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 10:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 86
Default

okay thanks
__________________
COMPAQ EVO N610C
1.80GHZ
1GIG OF RAM
60GIG HD
30GIG PORTABLE HD
DVD
WIRELESS
14.1 INCH LCD
AIT RADEON MOBILITY 7500 32MB
Alfredw1 is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 10:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 86
Default

another question would this product work with my laptop screen? 14.1 inch xga
http://nicepak.com/index.cfm?DIV=hom...detail&KEY=118
__________________
COMPAQ EVO N610C
1.80GHZ
1GIG OF RAM
60GIG HD
30GIG PORTABLE HD
DVD
WIRELESS
14.1 INCH LCD
AIT RADEON MOBILITY 7500 32MB
Alfredw1 is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 10:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Hmm, it does say computer monitor screens....
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.