LCD vs CRT - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2006, 10:18 AM   #11 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

i have a 17 inch lcd that i love, never had any problems with it and i have played all of todays games, i would say go with lcd if u have the money
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 11:19 AM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 239
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
Dead pixels usually come with in the first month, so you may not have a dead pixel at the store but after a short period it may become dead/lazy.

12x10 is not too much for a modern single card, but you have to keep getting a modern card or you will be screwed, it is a comitment buying a LCD. Definatly the way to go if you are rich.
Hopefully one of these days cards surpass games far enough that 1280x1024 can become the standard like 1024x768 is now.
__________________

BandwidthHogg is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 01:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 31
Send a message via Yahoo to ace418
Default

I have a 19 inch Acer LCD and it works great with games. If your only getting a 17 in LCD, i wouldn't worry about screen resolutions at all. Plus, pretty soon the only place you will be able to find a CRT monitor is at Computer Rennaissance or garage sales. I live in germany and I don't know of any elecronics store around here that carries them,.I don't know about stores like Best Buy or CompUSA though (since they don't have them here).
ace418 is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 03:00 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 239
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ace418
I have a 19 inch Acer LCD and it works great with games. If your only getting a 17 in LCD, i wouldn't worry about screen resolutions at all. Plus, pretty soon the only place you will be able to find a CRT monitor is at Computer Rennaissance or garage sales. I live in germany and I don't know of any elecronics store around here that carries them,.I don't know about stores like Best Buy or CompUSA though (since they don't have them here).
No retail stores carry CRTs anymore. A few online sites still carry them.
BandwidthHogg is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 03:05 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Some stores carry CRTs still, but not 15" ones.
cyrax is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 03:05 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BandwidthHogg
No retail stores carry CRTs anymore. A few online sites still carry them.
Thats a lie, lots do still.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 03:36 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 239
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Thats a lie, lots do still.
Not good ones, they still carry brands such as compaq and emachines to sell with PC bundles. Best Buy carries "Insignia" brand CRTs, but who wants them?
BandwidthHogg is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 05:33 PM   #18 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Over here most stores only sell a few basic, cheap & low-end Samsung and LG CRT's.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 05:49 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

If you'll ask me as I have 21.3" LCD, I would have preferred the CRT. users cant go wrong with their opinions.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 06:13 PM   #20 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blind_Arrow
Users cant go wrong with their opinions.
True, and some will stick to their opinion even though something else is better.
But they are still happy.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.