Laptop Wireless Upgrade Confusion! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2005, 11:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
Default Laptop Wireless Upgrade Confusion!

About 3 months ago I purchased a used HP Pavilion ze4400 laptop. I'm fairly new to the laptop scene, so bear with me if I sound like I don't know what I'm talking about.
When I received my laptop I checked everything out on it. It started up and ran fine. No program errors, or hardward conflicts that I saw. I did however want to add another 256 meg of ram. I ordered some, installed it myself (not that that's any big accomplishment, but...) and the computer's speed improved. The only other thing that I wanted on the computer that it didn't have was wireless. The computer was equipped with a mini-pci slot, so I knew it could handle it, and many other of hp's pavilion ze4400 series laptops had them. So, after a bit of searching, I found the "stock" mini pci wireless card, and promptly got it off e-bay. I installed it, and the computer recognized it right away and installed the drivers that I downloaded from HP, with no hardware conflicts. Now this is where I get confused. I thought maybe the wireless signal at the university I attend would be strong enought that I wouldn't have to worry about having the antennas that the card is equipped for. However, I am unable to get ANY signal anywhere on campus. So I broke down and bought 2 antenna, pulled the back off the computer and installed them. They seemed secure, so I put everything back together, and hoped for the best. Still NOTHING! That's when I started to get ticked off. In my network settings, the wireless network is enabled, but it doesn't pick up any signal, even with all that! What am I doing wrong? Have I overlooked something? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

adryan16 is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 03:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

Go somewhere and try it out where you are sure their is a wireless connection. Wireless doesnt have very good range.

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 04:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Jorsoft's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581

Yeah, try it out at a coffee shop/cafe or something. Starbucks, Panera Bread, Caribou all have wirelss. Ace hardware sometimes has one. I've "borrowed" their signal at my friend's house a couple of times to play WoW
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 07:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2

I took it to the library on campus. Our entire campus (ISU) is wireless now, and of all places, I thought the library would probably have one of the best signals. I just don't know what else to do.
adryan16 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.