laptop time! questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2006, 01:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Lightbulb laptop time! questions

My dad said he might get me a laptop for christmas (cause i want my own as i cant bring my moms over here) and i was looking over Dell's website and found this:

http://configure.us.dell.com/dellsto...=DNCWHA1&s=dhs

I dont plan to use it for high end games like F.E.A.R or anything just lower end games like CS:Source or DOD:Source. Will these games run any good and they dont have to be at the highest detail cause they actaully look good on low detail as well.

EDIT*: I should note that i'd like to keep it under $600 if any of you have suggestions for something else
__________________

__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 04:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 408
Default

if you went with that i'd atleast bump up the proc to the turion for $50 more... thats my 2 cents anyway
__________________

__________________
antec nine hundred
abit IP35 pro
Q6600 @ 3.3ghz
Evga 8800GTX
4GB Corsair XMS 800
150gb WD 10k
300gb seagate 7.2k
22" Samsung 5ms lcd
21" Sceptre lcd
cloud is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 11:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

what about an Xbvox 360 with Gears of War? Its cheaper and i'll probably get more intertainment out of it because of better gaphics and power. Anyone have a 360? any comments on it?
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 02:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default

whats $600 in £££'s ?
Yek is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 03:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tkey
whats $600 in £££'s ?

I honestly dont know, i only know the Dollar currency, why?
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.