Is this laptop suitable for my needs? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2005, 02:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 24
Default Is this laptop suitable for my needs?

Ok, so first I was going to get a PC, but then I decided to look into a laptop, since it would be very convenient for school.

This is the laptop:


notebook
Energy Asus Z71v,915PM intel, 15.4" WSXGA,128mb nvidia 5-USB, 10/100/1000

Processor
Intel Centrino 2.13 GHz 533MHz FSB 2mb cache

Memory
2048MB DDR2 533 mhz SODIMM (2x1024mb)

Video Card
Integrated 128mb nvidia 6600



Would this be able to run games such as Half life 2, FEAR, battlefield 2, etc..?
__________________

Shomac5k is offline  
Old 09-09-2005, 06:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

If it won't, just forward it on to me...

The CPU will handle it. The 6600 will run them, but maybe not on the highest settings.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-09-2005, 08:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

That is a decent video card, the processor and RAM are just fine.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 02:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Should run on medium settings.
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 01:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Send a message via Yahoo to ice_snuff
Default

yes that will run them fine

my laptop(specs in sig) runs HL2 with most of the setting on high by default with 50 fps
even when i turn the AF and AA to the max it doesnt go bellow 40

that should run them fine

really nice lappy
__________________
Fujitsu-Siemens AmiloD
Pentium 4 @ 3.33 GHZ
1GB DDR SDRAM
128mb 9700 pro

and lyk half an hour of battery :P
(wish it was a powerbook)
ice_snuff is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.