Is this laptop suitable for my needs? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-09-2005, 01:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 24
Default Is this laptop suitable for my needs?

Ok, so first I was going to get a PC, but then I decided to look into a laptop, since it would be very convenient for school.

This is the laptop:

Energy Asus Z71v,915PM intel, 15.4" WSXGA,128mb nvidia 5-USB, 10/100/1000

Intel Centrino 2.13 GHz 533MHz FSB 2mb cache

2048MB DDR2 533 mhz SODIMM (2x1024mb)

Video Card
Integrated 128mb nvidia 6600

Would this be able to run games such as Half life 2, FEAR, battlefield 2, etc..?

Shomac5k is offline  
Old 09-09-2005, 05:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,955

If it won't, just forward it on to me...

The CPU will handle it. The 6600 will run them, but maybe not on the highest settings.


Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-09-2005, 07:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike

That is a decent video card, the processor and RAM are just fine.
<img src=\"\" border=\"0\">
Check out Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 01:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261

Should run on medium settings.
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 12:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Send a message via Yahoo to ice_snuff

yes that will run them fine

my laptop(specs in sig) runs HL2 with most of the setting on high by default with 50 fps
even when i turn the AF and AA to the max it doesnt go bellow 40

that should run them fine

really nice lappy
Fujitsu-Siemens AmiloD
Pentium 4 @ 3.33 GHZ
128mb 9700 pro

and lyk half an hour of battery :P
(wish it was a powerbook)
ice_snuff is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.