Laptop Processor upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2006, 05:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Question Laptop Processor upgrade?

Hi Everybody,
I was waondering, is it possible to upgrade my Compaq Armada E500 processor? The 550mhz is getting really slow especially for win XP so an upgrade would really help. Anyone know if this is possible?

Dr Nick is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 06:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
kfc469's Avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469

it is probably possible, but it is going to be very very hard. It would be just as easy and cheap to buy a new one, they are only like $300 nowadays


kfc469 is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 06:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956

If you never opened a labtop I wouldn't recommend trying to update it yourself however if you know somebody in town let them do it for you also if your processor is at 550mhz and is a P3 at 100mhz FSB or 133mhz FSB you can probably reach up to 733mhz or 800mhz. also get some 512mb of ram for you labtop your noteboook will run smoother and windows xp won't crash so much or lock up when doing medium hard work.
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 04:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 65

I think is better to buy a New labtop since tat the prices of it is quite cheap now....Cuz if u upgrade it, it will not be worth to be upgraded cuz the processor are also costly and processor price take up 1/3 for ur computer so buy a new one instade....And also u muz ask a expret in doing labtop so tat if u upgrade ur new processor will not crash with ur mainboard..And also if u upgrade ur processor u will also going to upgrade ur RAm and so the cost is closing to a new Pc so It better to buy a new one..
PW_Ranger is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 10:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Jorsoft's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581

The processors for this particular laptop are fixed onto the motherboard (i used to own one). To get an upgade you'd have to buy a new mobo/proc combo and install it, which is more trouble than it's worth if you're not familiar with servicing laptops. I'd also recommend just buying a new laptop.
For windows xp to run tolerably you'd need about 512mb, that's the limit of what yours can take.
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.