Laptop and harddrives question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2006, 05:46 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 108
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mophead740
maybe try just partitioning 1 hard drive so it looks like 2 hard drive to the computer using it
OK. How to do it? Is there any software?

So all programs, folders are seperate for users?

How installation of software goes?
__________________

heguru is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 05:47 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by heguru
1. What do you mean by 'Windows folder'?

2. My intention is: user1 should only access hd1 and see only programs installed on it and same with user2. Can I install programs seperately on different drives?

1. Filepath is typically, C:/Windows ... where a majority of the OS files are...

2. I am not too familiar with dual boot setups, but I believe that would be the only way to truely have 2 users each with their own dedicated portion of the hard drive as your are wanting.... If you install Windows with 2 different users, there will be Common Areas, as in areas in which ALL users have access.... If you are running XP Pro or 2000 Pro, you can (through the use of permissions) restrict access to certain folders, and also prevent users from using certain applications.
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 05:51 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

yeh and if the hard drive is a decent size u could set it up like this(100GB hard drive for this example):
partition 1: 40GB allows access to only user 1 and has its own windows instalation
partition 2: 40GB own windows installation only allows user 2
partition 3: 10GB (or therabouts) both users have access but no programs are installed here
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 06:00 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 108
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mophead740
yeh and if the hard drive is a decent size u could set it up like this(100GB hard drive for this example):
partition 1: 40GB allows access to only user 1 and has its own windows instalation
partition 2: 40GB own windows installation only allows user 2
partition 3: 10GB (or therabouts) both users have access but no programs are installed here
It seems this works for me..
How to partion a hd ? Any advice please?
heguru is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 06:03 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

u can do it wen istalling windows but if u dont want do that u can use fdisk in windows bu thAt will format the drive so try using something like nortons partition magic
it cost $120 AUD but its worth it because u can do all this stuff to ure partitions without losing data
it also haelps u to dual boot
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 06:07 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 108
Default

Great!!

Will check on it...

Thank you King X13, Ethereal_Dragon and mophead740 for helping me out
heguru is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 02:11 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 108
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mophead740
u can do it wen istalling windows but if u dont want do that u can use fdisk in windows bu thAt will format the drive so try using something like nortons partition magic
it cost $120 AUD but its worth it because u can do all this stuff to ure partitions without losing data
it also haelps u to dual boot
OK. I did search on 'disk partition software', and found few software:
http://www.powerquest.com/home_homeo.../features.html
http://www.partition-manager.com/
http://www.acronis.com/promo/ADD/disk-director-011.html

My questions are:

1. Any particular recommandations if somebody are using any one of them?

2. Dell installs everything on the laptop before it comes to me. So I can install these partion manager after Windows XP already installed?

3. After partioning, one Windows XP installation can be used on both?


Thanks, hegu
heguru is offline  
Old 07-22-2006, 09:00 AM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 108
Default

Somebody can answer please ?
heguru is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 05:36 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

I haven't personally ever partitioned a drive, but I believe the best thing to do would be to create 3 partitions....

1 partition for the Windows (whichever distro) Operating System
1 Partition for User A
1 Partition for User Z

No matter who starts the computer, Windows will be loaded from the OS partition, and you can have 2 users set up in Windows, and then just give each user access to thier own other partition... User A would have access to his partition, but not user Z's partition... and vice versa for User Z.

But, what is SOUNDS like you want to do is a dual boot, so that you pick which OS is booted, but I would imagine it might be confusing if you use the same OS as the dual boot... I also have no experience with dual boot systems....
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.