laptop hard drive upgrade ????? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2014, 12:02 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 749
Default Re: laptop hard drive upgrade ?????

the information from the hard drive is: Hitachi Model HTS541640J9SA00 5v 700ma 40GB 5400rpm SATA

I THINK its a 2 1/2" hard drive, but i do not know for sure. i know that i want one that says in the neighborhood of 200GB, and i am fine with the 5400 rpm part, which i would believe should keep the amp draw close to the same as what is in here now. i do not want to have to start messing around with upgrading power supplies or more a powerful battery. what else do i need to know before i order one???
__________________

XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 12:24 AM   #12 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default Re: laptop hard drive upgrade ?????

5400's are "ok" for media, that's it... I personally would suggest an SSD, but at least this can give you a little better speed, since you only have a single HDD spot.

Newegg.com - Western Digital Scorpio Black WD3200BEKT 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

if I was to suggest an SSD:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820233404
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 10:28 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 749
Default Re: laptop hard drive upgrade ?????

i did not see the 16MB cache listed on my hard drive. i am not really sure what that is. is that an industry standard? or could mine be different? also, just below the product description, there is a link to a newer model. which makes me ??? i think that ssd are really nothing more than a lot of ram inside of a case. is that right? which would make it quicker, and more reliable. but i am on a stupid tight budget. so every dollar counts.
__________________

XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.