Laptop didn't last through college, need help building 1st computer!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Billwaa

Beta member
I got my HP tx2 for college, thinking that it will at least last me through if not longer. However, it died last Friday, being only 2 years old. The warranty ran out, I do some checking, it is a CPU problem, so I didn't even attempt to let HP fix it, it will probably cost around the same to build a new computer.
*off topic* I start ripping parts out, hard drive first, to recover my school work. I really want to reuse the touch screen somehow, but don't know how...

Since I only work part time in college, I don't have a real job, and can't afford a very high performance computer. For now, I think I just want to spend around $500 on it for initial start up, just to get it running so I can do some homework. I will upgrade more parts into it later.

I am not a hard core gamer, but I am an engineering student. So I need to do 3D modeling and CAD work in many occasions. I also like to do graphics stuffs with Photoshop, sometime edit videos, do some computer game design... so in conclusion, I don't need a very high ended system. But at least one that will not lag too badly when I try to work.

I know $500 is not a lot, so here's what I have in mind for now. Will probably add more RAM and maybe a dedicated graphic card later. Since I have never built a computer before, I am not sure if all the parts are compatible with each other. I check as hard as I can, but I am just not sure, since I am not really a hardware person. One of the thing is that my motherboard required a 8 pin power supply, heard some people complain that their psu only have 4 pin... and I don't know where to look to see how many pin the psu I choose have.

If you guys can help me, make some comments and suggestions, that will be great. :grin:
*I only have a usb keyboard and usb mouse in my dorm, is it true that motherboards initially don't support usb and network?

Case: