Is this laptop deal too good to be true? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2006, 07:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Is this laptop deal too good to be true?

I am browsing for a decent, cheap, basic laptop just for wathcing DVD's and using internet and microsoft word. I came across this at tigerdirect. It has an AMD Turion 64 1.8ghz cpu with 256 ram (that i might upgrade later) and a 40GB HDD. It is onyl $300.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...u=BTO%20038576

The only thing though is I am wondering why it is so cheap? Is it pre built or what? Because when i added it to my shopping cart it says i have 4 items in there lol, but all ther is is the laptop. Does anyone know anything about these kinds of laptops. As long as i get a working laptop that boots up i will be happy for only $300. Can someone please tell me if it is for real or not?
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 07:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

I guess they are called built to order laptops. What does this mean? I have been reading but can't find anything. Here is an other one.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...976&CatId=1321
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 02:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

Could you send a proper link. One actually to the product itself
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 02:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gmanych
Could you send a proper link. One actually to the product itself
Yeah, link the product in question so we can help you.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 02:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default

Yh , i think because it is not a brand you will probberly just be paying for the actual laptop and not supporting the name of it :P , as for the 4 items in cart check the t&c (there may be a catch like you have to buy 3 other items to get it at that price)
Yek is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 05:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

299 for that? There must be some misunderstanding. Perhaps that's why the link doesn't work... The price may have been a typo.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 06:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

no im positive, the link doesn't woprk bcuz someone already bought the laptop. It says out of stock. well as soon as an other one comes back i'll try to post another link. They are systemax laptops.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 08:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Still. You can't get DESKTOPS with specs similiar to that for much less than 300.

There must be like 200 or 300 bucks in rebates. That's the only way I'd believe it.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 08:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

Here's a deal.
http://www.walmart.com/catalog/produ...uct_id=5238476
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 09:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by superdave1984
Here's a deal.
http://www.walmart.com/catalog/produ...uct_id=5238476
That's not bad for $400, too bad it's not available online, also says prices may vary.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.