laggy - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-09-2006, 05:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 25
Default laggy

hi guys my friends pc has become very laggy when playing any game spec are
amd 2100
128 meg ge force 5600
512 mb ram
xp home

it was working fine but started to do this all of a sudden any ideas?
__________________

daz6215 is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 07:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Any viruses/spyware, disk defrag, etc
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 07:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 25
Default thanks

thanks ill take a look!
daz6215 is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 12:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

what games? + 2100!!!!! thats old!!!
__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 02:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 25
Default

americas army and the likes, cant understand why its doing it! deleted temp internet folder etc but to no avail!!!
daz6215 is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 02:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

If you open task manager, and click on the performance tab, what do you see when the computer is idle?
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 02:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 25
Default

i think there are quite alot of processes running i did go into msconfig and deselected all at start up to see if this helped but no luck!!!
daz6215 is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 03:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

maybe a re-format is in order ....stupid windows....
__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 03:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 25
Default

thanks for the reply mate!
__________________

daz6215 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.