keyboard not working after putting computer together... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2006, 06:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230
Default

If you can install the OS, then update Bios in Windows... try that. If it doesn't work, look for support docs on mobo to see if you can put the board in some sort of configuration or maintenance mode by changing the jumper settings. Reset CMOS perhaps?
__________________

__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.15ghz w/ 1.35 vcore
Abit AW9D-MAX
Scythe Infinity
2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
XFX 7600GT xXx
Silverstone Tj-06
Drizo is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 10:22 PM   #12 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Well I can't get pass the screen where it says press DEL to continue. So I'll try resetting the CMOS.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 12:43 PM   #13 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

OK I resetted the CMOS, and I managed to get my hands on a USB keyboard.....plugged it in...turned it on. Still the buttons don't respond.
So now what?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 03:54 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to KNiGHTMaRe89
Default

what version of windows are you running do you know?

and in all honesty i would just say to screw it. if you tried a few simple steps and nothing, its prolly shot. if its as old as you say it is its not even worth fixing IMO.
KNiGHTMaRe89 is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 04:04 PM   #15 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

It's XP. That really sux though....because everything works except that dam keyboard port.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 04:27 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to KNiGHTMaRe89
Default

wait a minute...your able to boot into windows and log in?
KNiGHTMaRe89 is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 04:36 PM   #17 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

No, when I turn it on, the first thing I see is a black screen that does a memory test....then on the bottom it says "Press DEL to go to setup". Something like that but I can't get pass it.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 04:47 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to KNiGHTMaRe89
Default

hmm its shot...if you cant get to safe mode or anythign like that theres really not that much you could do...all i can say is reset the CMOS and update the BIOS....if nothing works after that your pretty much screwed
__________________

KNiGHTMaRe89 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.