Just upgraded to a 7900GT.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2006, 02:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 97
Default Just upgraded to a 7900GT..

I just got my new 7900GT from newegg today, I know that the 7900GT asks for a 400watt power supply, atm I have a 300watt. So my question is, with me having a 300watt power supply, would it hurt my new 7900GT? Or would it just not work to its full potential? I plan to go get a new 430watt power supply tomorrow, but for today im stuck with my 300watt.
__________________

Shirtbird is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 02:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

i think one of the three will happen:

1) it will work
2) it will not work
3) it will damage/burn your 7900gt.

since #3 is on the list, i wouldn't risk it.
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 02:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 97
Default

alright thanks, ill just wait another day to play with it then
Shirtbird is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 02:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

yes, I would recommed upgrading.... The LIKELY problem you would have is the computer wouldn't boot.

A few years ago, my friend had an issue like this, where he had a 250W or 300W PS, and the card called for a minimum of 350W. At first, all was good, then the computer stopped booting after a month or two. He had to disconnect the power to the video card, then boot, then RECONNECT the power card when windows was loading.... I would NOT recommed doing this...

I WOULD recommed any of the TruePower series PSU's from ANTEC.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 03:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

Yea, I would just wait and not risk wrecking your card.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 03:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Most likley it will work but perform misrebly due to lack of power, worst case scenario it won't boot up... 0.01% chances that it will actualy hurt anything on the gpu.
Yoad is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 05:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

I don't think it will hurt your card, considering it's not getting enough power and not to much power. Your more likely to blow out your power supply and not your card.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 10:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Depending on the other components in your computer, it may or may not boot. Either way, it can not damage your computer, but your computer will probably run in a weak manner if it decides to boot. If you get it to boot, it will probably be unstable and your video card will probably automatically downclock itself.

Personally, I'd wait to install the new PSU because it's not really that fun wiring everything up with the PSU only to have it completed half *** and then have to take it all apart and then re-install the new PSU.

Of course that's up to you, Good Luck!
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 11:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

Well I would just wait and use your current video card until your PSU arrives, and then you can make sure everything is all fine and dandy. Awesome.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 04:54 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by reggie_da_man
I don't think it will hurt your card, considering it's not getting enough power and not to much power. Your more likely to blow out your power supply and not your card.
a little off topic, but im considering to take a 200W PSU and plug it from outside the case into a P4 just to see if it explodes, that'll be so awsome if it does!!! Hahaha
__________________

Yoad is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.