Just a queiry - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2006, 09:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Question Just a queiry

Umm, i am somewhat new to this so here goes.
I love computers and i know my way well around all basic features with limited knowledge on extra features. I have a small question, if anyone is willing to help.
I currently own a brand new, top of the range desktop computer, I also have a laptop, but my family shares this and before you jump to any conclusions, it is annoying to use and does not fix my problem.
Well...now, with my desktop, it is in one of the most public places of the house and i really hate it when somebody i am living with is behind me, for any reason, it just makes me conscious of whether they are looking over my shoulder...i know, its weird. I would love to have a desktop in by bedroom but i cannot for two reasons. After purchasing this computer as a household, I do not have the money to buy a new one and my bedroom does not have the room for a desk and computer. I would love a computer in my bedroom so my question is, is there any way of running a second screen off my desktop so i have a screen, keyboard and mouse in my bedroom, and if possible, be able to use both at once?
I know, its stupid, but in my naivety, solving this problem would make my life so much easier.
Thank you for listening and if you end up replying to this forum, thank you as well.
__________________

ilovethisworld is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 10:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

First thing that springs to mind is a thin client.

It will require another computer, of course, but it doesn't have to be top of the line; my dad and I once set up a whole lab of Pentium II thin client machines, and since they completely relied on the server machine, very little system processes were used.
Thin clients are just remote computing, in essence. You run everything off the host computer, which requires very little system processes. And since you log into the computer using a different name, someone can still be sitting at the main computer and use it (provided you have enough RAM and a fast enough processor). Like I said, it requires another computer, but if you can get an old PII or PIII cheap, it won't matter.

At the moment, that's the only logical solution I can think of.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 10:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Thank you so much...
Just one more thing, when you say another computer do you mean another tower, or can i get away with just one monitor?
Sorry, i think i sound dumb, i have never done anything like this before. LOL.
Thanks Again.
ilovethisworld is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 05:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

No, it would require another tower.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.